化學與材料科學應用主頁

有機電致發光材料分析解決方案

電致發光材料 (EL) 是夜燈、手錶照明、平面式壁面裝飾照明、醫療器材顯示螢幕、電腦螢幕以及告示牌常用的材料。分析有機電致發光元件並不容易,但運用 Waters 的不純物剖析以及 EML 有機材料分離與分析技術就能做到。

有機電致發光元件的構造

圖 1 有機電致發光元件簡圖

如圖 1 所示,有機電致發光 (EL) 元件的基本結構包含一個夾在陽極和陰極電極之間的發光層 (EML)。要讓發光層發光,需以包含摻有錫銦氧化物 (氧化銦錫:ITO) 在內的透明電極做為陽極。目前已有各式各樣的單層或多層發光層構造申請專利,多層構造的每一層都具有具體的功用。圖 1 所示的構造包含三層:從陰極端開始分別是電子傳輸層 (ETL)、發光層以及電洞傳輸層 (HTL)。陽極和陰極遇到電場會分別噴發電洞和電子,電洞和電子之間的結合能則是在發光層中產生的。此結合能會激發作為發光中心的螢光有機材料,於是放射出光線。因此,若要開發具有高亮度和高發光效率的元件,必須要讓兩個載子噴發到發光層中的的電洞和電子量達到平衡。發光層所用的有機分子分為低分子和高分子兩類。

有機化合物的發光機制 (螢光和磷光)

圖 2 賈布朗斯基圖

圖 2 是賈布朗斯基圖 (Jablonski diagram),說明芳香環化合物的能態躍遷。S0、S1、S2 和 T1 所示分別為基態、第一激發單重態、第二激發單重態以及三重態。在輻射躍遷期間,受多餘能量激發的化合物轉為低能態 (穩定基態) 時,化合物會發光。從第一激發單重態躍遷為基態時發出的光稱為「螢光」,而從三重態躍遷時發出的光則稱為「磷光」。螢光是電子在同一自旋多重態下進行躍遷所導致的發光,由於電子會保持自旋狀態,因此發光時間極短。相對而言,磷光則是不同自旋多重態的電子進行躍遷所導致的發光,自旋狀態可能會出現變化。基本上,這種情況屬於禁制躍遷,透過這種躍遷方式發光所需的時間較長。因此,磷光的發光生命期較長。

有機電致發光元件所用的發光層有機材料範例

發光層材料分析範例
香豆素 6 結構解析範例
顯示以SYNAPT G2-Si測量香豆素 6 的範例

圖 3 香豆素 6 的 MS 譜圖

  •  MS 圖譜
    分子量資訊是在單一 Tof MS 模式下取得的。以電噴灑游離法 (ESI) 電離香豆素 6,然後偵測其質子化離子 [M+H]+Tof MS提供精確質量 (單位是 mDa) 以及穩定同位素型態的資訊 (圖 3)。
  • 以精確質量測定分析元素組成
    圖 4 所示的畫面代表以 MS 譜圖資料進行元素成分分析的結果。綠框中的數字代表精確質量的準確度 (實際值與理論值的差)。i-Fit 可以根據穩定同位素型態以及精確質量準確度之間的一致情形縮小候選元素的範圍,非常適合用於分析不明化合物的成分 (圖 4 紅框所示之處)。

圖 4 根據 MS 譜圖資料進行成分分析的結果

  • 有雙碰撞區的 MS/MS
    要以 MS/MS 取得化學結構中的碎片資訊,必須進行能量較高的碰撞誘發解離 (CID),剛性結構的化合物尤其如此。提高能階可以取得低分子量化合物碎片的相關資訊。不過,提高能階不光會產生碎片,同時也會加劇離子丟失。因此,若考量碎片離子精確質量的靈敏度和準確度,這種方法不見得是最好的做法。 SYNAPT G2-Si可以利用雙碰撞區進行兩階段碎裂,從而提高收集資訊的效率和詳細程度 (圖 5)。


圖 5 香豆素 6 的 MS 圖譜
圖例 (從左上開始):使用雙碰撞區/使用單碰撞區

發光層有機材料分離與分析系統解決方案
UPLC/FLR (螢光偵測器)

  • 高靈敏度螢光偵測器
  • 在螢光偵測的同時進行掃描
  • 超效分離功能,非常適合用於分離類緣物和異構物
  • 移動相 Auto•Blend 技術,非常適合需要調整分離條件的情況
  • 提供多種管柱
  • 高度再現性,非常適合測定產率
  • 超高速分離,非常適合用於反應監測

發光層有機材料不純物剖析系統解決方案
(UPLC/四極桿、IMS、飛行時間質譜儀) UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si

  • 雙碰撞區,能提高剛性結構化合物的分析效率
  • 運用離子遷移(IMS)技術,能有效分離異構物
  • TAP 碎斷,能解析複雜分子的結構 (並指派合理碎片離子)
  • 利用 IntelliStart 自動校正質量
  • 以 LockSpray 準確測量精確質量
  • 以 i-Fit 進行精密的元素組成分析
  • 非常適合用於超高效液相層析儀 (UPLC)
  • 可用於 ESCi、APCI/APPI、ASAP、APGC、MALDI
化學與材料科學應用主頁
樣品DEMO需求
聯絡我們了解更多

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for the analysis of organic EL materials

Electroluminescent materials (EL) can be commonly found in nightlights, watch illuminations, flat wall decorative illuminations, medical tool display screens, computer monitors and billboards. Though analyzing organic electroluminescence elements can be difficult, it can be achieved by Waters’ impurity profiling as well as separation and analysis of EML organic materials.

Construction of organic EL elements

Fig.1 Schematic illustration of organic EL elements

As shown in Fig.1, the basic construction of organic electroluminescence (EL) elements comprises a light-emitting layer (EML) sandwiched between the anode and cathode electrodes. To emit light from an EML, a transparent electrode (indium tin oxide: ITO), including tin-doped indium oxide, is used as an anode. A variety of EML constructions, from a single-layer to a multi-layer, have been applied for patents, and in the multi-layer construction, each layer plays a specific role. The construction shown in Fig.1 comprises the three layers: from the cathode side, an electron transport layer (ETL), an EML, and a hole transport layer (HTL). In response to the electric field, holes and electrons are injected from the anode and the cathode, respectively, and the binding energy between the holes and electrons is produced in the EML. The energy excites the fluorescent organic material, which is the center of the light emission, and light is emitted. Therefore, to develop an element with higher brightness and efficiency, a balanced injection of holes and electrons from both carriers into the EML is required. The organic molecules used in the EML are classified into low molecules and high molecules.

Light-emission mechanisms of organic compounds (fluorescence and phosphorescence)

Fig.2 Jablonski diagram

Figure 2 shows a Jablonski diagram illustrating the energy state transitions of aromatic ring compounds. S0, S1, S2, and T1 show the ground state, the first excited singlet state, the second excited singlet state, and the triplet state, respectively. During the process of radiative transition, compounds emit light when the compounds excited by excessive energy shift to a low-energy state (stable ground state). The emission induced during transition from the first excited singlet state to the ground state is defined as “fluorescence,” and the emission induced during transition from the triplet state is defined as “phosphorescence.” Fluorescence is an emission with the electron transition within the same spin multiplicity state, and the emission is extremely short because the state of electron spin is maintained. In contrast, phosphorescence is an emission with the electron transition among different spin multiplicity states, and the states of the spin may change. This, basically, is a forbidden transition, and it takes a longer time to emit through this transition. Thus, the lifetime of emission might be prolonged in phosphorescence.

Selected EML organic materials used in organic EL elements

An example of an analysis of EML materials
An example of the structural elucidation of coumarin 6
Showing an example of the measurement of coumarin 6 using the SYNAPT G2-Si


Fig.3 MS spectra of coumarin 6

  • MS spectrum
    The molecular weight information is obtained in single Tof MS mode. Coumarin 6 was ionized by electrospray ionization (ESI) and detected as protonated ion [M+H]+. Tof MS provides accurate mass with the unit of mDa and the information of patterns of stable isotopes (Fig.3).
  • Elemental composition using accurate mass measurement
    The screen shown in Fig.4 indicates the results from the elemental composition using data from MS spectra. The numbers in the green frame exhibit the accuracy of accurate mass (differences between the actual values and the calculated values). i-Fit is used to narrow candidate components based on the coincidence between the patterns of stable isotopes and the accuracy of accurate mass, and is extremely useful toward analyzing the components of unknown chemicals (shown in the red frame in Fig.4).

Fig.4 Results of a component analysis based on data from MS spectra

  • MS/MS with dual-collision cells
    To obtain information about fragments in a chemical structure using MS/MS, higher-energy collision-induced dissociation (CID) is required, especially for chemicals with a rigid structure. Information about the fragments from a chemical with low molecular weight can be obtained by increasing the energy level. However, the production of fragments and the loss of ions are simultaneously enhanced by increasing the energy level. Therefore, this procedure is not always optimal in terms of the sensitivity and accuracy of the accurate mass of the fragment ions. In the SYNAPT G2-Si, two-step fragmentation is available with a dual-collision cell, which enables efficient and detailed information acquisition (Fig.5).


Fig.5 MS spectra of coumarin 6
In the figure (from top left):With a dual-collision cell / With a single-collision cell

System solution for the separation and analysis of EML organic materials
UPLC/FLR (fluorescence detector)

  • High-sensitivity fluorescence detector
  • Scanning in the fluorescence detection
  • Hyper-separation capability, optimal for the separation of analogues and isomers
  • Mobile phase Auto Blend technology, optimal for the consideration of separation conditions
  • A large line of columns
  • High reproducibility, optimal for yield measurement
  • Hyper-speed separation, optimal for response monitoring

System solution for the impurity profiling of EML organic materials
UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si (UPLC/quadrupole, IMS, time-of-flight mass spectrometer)

  • Dual-collision cell, efficient for the analysis of chemicals with a rigid structure
  • With ion mobility, efficient for isomer separation
  • TAP fragmentation, efficient for the structural elucidation of complex molecules (assignment of fragment ions)
  • Auto-calibration by IntelliStart
  • Precise accurate mass measurement by LockSpray
  • Precise elemental composition analysis by i-Fit
  • Applicable to ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC)
  • Applicable to the ESCi, APCI/APPI, ASAP, APGC, MALDI
Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System