化學與材料科學應用主頁

鋰離子 (Li) 二次電池研發解決方案

1990 年代出現的鋰離子 (Li 離子) 電池取代了鎳鎘電池 (NiCd),成為成長速度最快、運用範圍最廣的充電電池,常用於智慧型手機、筆記型電腦、平板電腦、遊戲主機、無線電鑽之類的攜帶型電子裝置,近期甚也能運用於電動車。鋰離子電池具備許多令人滿意的特性,包括能量密度高、工作電壓高、記憶效應極小以及可快速充電,但其電池效能衰變問題及相關的穩定性與安全性風險不斷引發疑慮。有鑑於這方面的挑戰,除了分析衰變機制之外,電池製造商可以採用 Waters 的一系列系統解決方案 (例如加速衰變測試) 進行分析,尤其是針對電解液。

電池分類



電池分為三類:

  1. 常用的電化學電池;
  2. 能直接在半導體中將光能轉換為電能的物理電池,例如太陽能電池;以及
  3. 生物電池,包括利用酵素或微生物的酵素電池

一次電池衍生自電化學電池,包括錳電池、鹼性電池以及水銀電池,用於一般用途,而鋰離子 (Li) 電池則為二次電池。一次電池是拋棄式電池,二次電池又名充電電池,充電後即可重複使用。用途最廣的二次電池是車輛常用的鉛酸蓄電池。後來也發展出鎳鎘電池 (NiCd) 這種充電式乾電池,同時,二次電池朝着鎳氫 (NiMH) 電池和鋰離子二次電池的方向發展,這些都是對環境更安全的電池。

鋰離子二次電池的特性


鉛酸蓄電池是人們使用了近百年的二次電池,用途非常廣泛,例如可用於汽車和不斷電系統 (UPS)。相較於其他二次電池,鉛酸蓄電池單位電容的成本極低,而且可以進行大規模放電。相對而言,這種電池有幾個弱點,例如需要非常大的安裝空間 (體積較大)、重量較重,在低溫下的工作效能也較差。

鎳鎘電池、鎳氫電池和鋰離子二次電池各有其特性,但未來的趨勢似乎偏重鋰離子二次電池。鎳鎘電池是一種能夠大規模放電的二次電池,廣泛運用於電動刮鬍刀等裝置以及電鑽之類的工具。不過,鎳鎘電池也有招致非議之處,因為人們普遍認為鎘會污染環境,歐洲已經立法規定回收與禁用市售鎳鎘電池。

鎳鎘電池的單位電容重量較重,還有記憶效應方面的問題,因此運用範圍不像鎳氫和鋰離子二次電池那樣廣泛。1990 年代出現的鋰離子電池很快就為人們所接納,成為手機和筆記型電腦數量激增的解決方案,因為人們認為這類電池具有優異的單位電容重量。此外,鋰離子電池的特點在於經常進行小規模的放電/充電循環並不會降低放電容量 (記憶效應),可以重複充電。

  • 高能量密度
    o 與相同體積的鎳鎘和鎳氫電池相較之下,較高能量密度
    o 單位重量能量密度:2–5 倍
    o 單位體積能量密度:1.5-3 倍
  • 高工作電壓
    o 相較於鎳鎘電池和鎳氫電池,電壓大約可以提高三倍。
    o 串聯電池的數量可以降三分之一。
    o 使用這類電池很容易就能縮小裝置體積和減輕重量。
  • 沒有記憶效應
    o 可重複充電。
  • 環保又安全
    o 不使用攸關環境安全的管制物質,包括鎘、鉛以及水銀。
    o 耐過量充電。
    o 耐熱性良好。
  • 能快速充電,與充電和放電相關的循環特性十分優異

鋰離子二次電池的機制

鋰離子二次電池的成分

電解液衰變機制分析範例

使用 Xevo G2-XS Tof,針對充電-放電循環後吸附於電極表面的有機材料和電解液中的產物進行結構解析。

參考資料:Journal of the Electrochemical Society, 151(8) A1202-A1209 (2004), “Identification of Li-based Electrolyte Degradation Products Through DEI and ESI High-resolution Mass Spectrometry,” S.Laruelle, S.Pilard, P.Grugeon, S.Grugeon, and J.-M.Tarascon

加速衰變測試與衰變機制分析

某些研究必須進行變異因子分析,包括新材料與物質的效能變異及穩定性評估。我們可以根據衰變樣品的不純物結構分析資訊解析老化過程 (例如主要成分的衰變與聚合),而且可以將結果當成選擇穩定有效添加劑的標準。使用 Progenesis QI (OPLS 模式) 進行的多變量分析適合用於衰變前後的比較分析。這種分析方法很容易就能在與成分相關的海量資訊中辨別並分離出分化因子。

在加速/老化研究的衰變機制分析工作流程以及衰變機制分析中,可以使用 UPLC/飛行時間質譜儀分析加速老化前後的樣品 (n ≥ 3),並且自動將全面偵測到的成分資訊 (滯留時間、精確質量和訊號峰面積) 歸納成表格。以 OPLS 模式分析這些成分資訊後,會得到 S-Plot。利用這份 S-Plot 可以目測衰變前後所消長的成分,而且很容易就能從中擷取相關資訊,S-Plot 中的每一張圖均對應於根據精確質量與滯留時間鑑定出的成分 (峰)。標註紅色記號的兩張圖代表衰變前後呈現變化的成分。點選這些圖就能顯示趨勢圖,您可以透過趨勢圖確認衰變前後所消長的成分。這兩種成分在老化過程中似乎具有某種關係,例如氧化、還原、衰變以及聚合。

 

電解液衰變機制分析系統解決方案

UPLC/Xevo G2-XS QTof (UPLC/四極桿串聯飛行時間質譜儀)

  • 利用 IntelliStart 自動校正質量
  • 以 LockSpray 準確測量精確質量
  • 以 i-Fit 進行精密的元素組成分析
  • 非常適合用於超高效液相層析儀 (UPLC)
  • 可用於 ESCi、APCI/APPI、ASAP、APGC

UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si (UPLC/四極桿、IMS、飛行時間質譜儀)

  • 運用離子遷移分離技術
  • TAP 碎斷 (指派碎片離子)
  • 利用 IntelliStart 自動校正質量
  • 以 LockSpray 準確測量精確質量
  • 以 i-Fit 進行精密的元素組成分析
  • 非常適合用於超高效液相層析儀 (UPLC)
  • 可用於 ESCi、APCI/APPI、ASAP、APGC、MALDI

鋰離子二次電池的充電/放電機制,就是鋰離子於充電/放電循環期間穿過隔板在陰極和陽極材料之間進行傳輸的過程。陰極和陽極材料基本上會始終保持帶電狀態。

Chemical Materials Home Page
樣品DEMO需求
聯絡我們了解更多

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for the R&D of lithium-ion (Li) secondary batteries

Introduced in the 1990s, Lithium-ion (Li-ion) dethroned the NiCad battery (NiCd) as one of the fastest-growing and most widely used rechargeable batteries for portable electronics such as smartphones, laptops, tablets, game consoles, cordless drills, and more recently, even electric vehicles. While the Li-ion battery presented desirable properties including high-energy density, working voltage, tiny memory effect and quick charging, its degradation of battery performance and associated stability and safety risks continue to raise concerns. In view of these challenges, battery manufacturers can resort to an array of Waters’ systemic solutions such as accelerated degradation tests in addition to the analysis of the degradation mechanisms, in particular, the electrolyte solution.

Classification of batteries


Batteries are classified into the three categories:
1. Electrochemical cells that are commonly used therein;
2. Physical cells, such as solar cells, that directly convert light energy into electrical energy in a semiconductor; and
3. Biological cells, including enzyme cells, that use enzymes or microorganisms

Primary battery types branching out from electrochemical batteries include manganese batteries, alkaline batteries and mercury batteries, and are used for general purpose applications whereas lithium-ion (Li) is a type of secondary battery. While a primary battery is disposable, a secondary battery, also known as a rechargeable battery, can be reused again after recharging. The most widely used secondary battery is a lead-acid battery which is commonly used in vehicles. A rechargeable dry cell, NiCad (NiCd) battery, was also introduced, and secondary batteries are advancing toward nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) batteries and Li-ion secondary batteries, all being considered toward being more environmentally safe.

Characteristics of Li-ion secondary batteries

The lead-acid battery, a secondary battery type that has been used for almost 100 years, is widely employed in a variety of purposes, such as for cars and in uninterruptible power supplies (UPS). The lead-acid battery is extremely low cost per electric capacity compared to any other secondary battery and allows for large-scale electrical discharge. In contrast, it has several weak points, such as the need for a large space for installation (a large body size), heavy weight, and poor performance regarding low-temperature properties.

The NiCd battery, NiMH battery, and Li-ion secondary batteries also have their own unique characteristics yet the trend appears to be converging on Li-ion secondary batteries in the future. As a secondary battery type capable of large-scale electrical discharge, the NiCd battery has been used in devices such as shavers and tools such as electric drills. However, the use of NiCd batteries is also stigmatized as people generally perceive cadmium as an environmental pollutant, and the collection and banning of the use of marketed NiCd batteries in Europe has become obligatory.

Compared to the NiMH and Li-ion secondary battery, NiCd batteries are not widely used due to their heavy weight per capacity and memory effect issues. The Li-ion battery, introduced in the 1990s quickly gained acceptance as a solution for the fast growing numbers of cellphones and laptop PCs, as it was considered superior in charge capacity per weight. In addition, as a feature of Li-ion batteries, a number of small discharge/recharge cycles do not reduce the discharged capacity (memory effect), and repeated recharging is available.

  • High energy density
    o Compared to NiCd and NiMH batteries with the same body size
    o Energy density per weight: 2.0–5 times
    o Energy density per volume: 1.5–3 times
  • High working voltage
    o Approximately three times higher voltage can be obtained compared to NiCd and NiMH batteries.
    o The number of serial-connected batteries can be reduced to one-third.
    o It is easy to decrease the body size and weight of devices using this battery.
  • No memory impact
    o Available for repeated recharging.
  • Eco-friendly and safe
    o Controlled substances related to environmental safety, including cadmium, lead, and mercury, are not used.
    o Resistance to overcharging
    o Good thermal stability
  • Capability of quick charging and good recycling features regarding charging and discharging

Mechanisms of Li-ion secondary battery

Components of Li-ion secondary battery

Examples of the analysis of the degradation mechanisms of electrolyte solution
Structural elucidation of organic materials that have adhered to the electrode surface and products in the electrolyte solution after charge-discharge cycles using the Xevo G2-XS Tof.

Reference: Journal of the Electrochemical Society, 151(8) A1202-A1209 (2004), “Identification of Li-based Electrolyte Degradation Products Through DEI and ESI High-resolution Mass Spectrometry,” S.Laruelle, S.Pilard, P.Grugeon, S.Grugeon, and J.-M.Tarascon

Accelerated degradation test and an analysis of degradation mechanisms
An analysis of variation factors is required in some studies, including the performance variability and stability assessment of new materials and substances. Information from the structural analysis of impurities in a degradation sample can elucidate the deterioration process, such as in the degradation of the major component and polymerization, and can be a criterion for the selection of effective additives for stabilization. Multivariate analysis using the Progenesis QI (OPLS model) is effective for comparative analysis between before- and after-degradation. It enables the ability to easily identify and isolate the differential factors from a large amount of information related to the components.

In workflow degradation mechanism analysis in the accelerated/aging study and in the degradation mechanism analysis, the samples in the pre- and post-accelerated deterioration are analyzed using a UPLC/time-of-flight mass spectrometer (n ≥ 3), and the comprehensively detected component information (retention time, accurate mass, and peak area) is automatically summarized in a table. The analysis of this component information with the OPLS model provides an S-Plot. Increased or decreased components between pre- and post-degradation are visually and easily extracted from this S-Plot, and each plot in the S-Plot corresponds to the components (peaks) identified based on accurate mass and retention time. The two plots with red markings indicate the components that show the largest change between pre- and post-degradation. Click these plots to show a trend plot, which allows you to confirm the increase or decrease of the component pre- and post-degradation. These two components appear to have some relationship, such as oxidation, reduction, degradation, and polymerization, during deterioration.

Systemic solution for the analysis of degradation mechanisms of electrolyte solution

UPLC/Xevo G2-XS QTof (UPLC/quadrupole, time-of-flight mass spectrometer)

  • Auto-calibration by IntelliStart
  • Precise accurate mass measurement by LockSpray
  • Precise elemental composition analysis by i-Fit
  • Optimum for ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC)
  • Applicable to the ESCi, APCI/APPI, ASAP, APGC

UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si (UPLC/quadrupole, IMS, time-of-flight mass spectrometer)

  • With ion mobility separation
  • TAP fragmentation (assignment of fragment ions)
  • Auto-calibration by IntelliStart
  • Precise accurate mass measurement by LockSpray
  • Precise elemental composition analysis by i-Fit
  • Optimum for ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC)
  • Applicable to the ESCi, APCI/APPI, ASAP, APGC, MALDI

The charging/discharging mechanism of the Li-ion secondary battery is simply a transmission of lithium ions between the cathode and the anode materials through the separator during charging/discharging cycles.The forms of the cathode and anode materials basically remain charged.

Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System