化学与材料科学应用主页

提高有机电致发光材料产品竞争力的解决方案

严格的质量标准和高纯度是制造有机电致发光(EL)材料的关键。要开发并制造竞争力的有机EL产品,企业应重点关注以下三个决定性因素:基本性能(创新性)、材料组分的品质稳定性和供应稳定性,以及成本。针对上述问题,沃特世解决方案是超临界流体色谱(SFC)超高效合相色谱(UPC2),前者可获得高纯度产品,后者则可以作为关键的差异化检测技术实现严格的质控流程,有效提升EL材料的产品竞争力。

质量因子分析

由有机电气材料组成的有机EL材料属于高附加值产品,只有少数高端企业能够生产。由于EL产品具有高附加值,且生产所需大量技术和专业领域的投资,因此制造商必须提高产品质量以及单位生产线的产量,以实现产品差异化。通过鉴定杂质并基于鉴定结果改进工艺控制和纯化工艺,能够提高分析工作的价值。沃特世建议制造商将UPLC/Xevo G2 QTof系统与多变量分析软件Progenesis QI配合使用,以找出与批次间变异性相关的化合物,并预测差异化合物的相关结构。

杂质分析

实现高峰容量的定量分析是在有机EL材料制造过程中实施有效过程监测和质控的关键。与此类似,在开发阶段表征杂质,以及在选择和制定纯化方案时,分离/测定手段非常重要。传统分离分析通常使用正相或反相液相色谱(LC)。但在分离有机EL材料时,正相或反相液相色谱存在一些问题,例如可能忽略未分离的异构体和结构类似物,以及化合物由于极性原因或分子结构复杂性而保留在色谱柱中等等。沃特世推荐应用UPLC H-Class系统实现高效分离,同时应用UPC2作为有机EL材料杂质分析的补充技术。

UPLC H-Class/PDA系统

  • 优化高效反相分离条件的开发过程

  • 采用具有四类溶液的混合溶液系统,以高洗脱性能的溶剂创建分离条件

  • 优化芳香叔胺分析的CSH色谱柱

基于PDA检测器的峰纯度检测

使用UPLC H-Class/CSH C18分析BDABVi的示例

UPLC技术能够检出被传统HPLC忽略的异构体色谱峰,如图1所示。

1.使用CSH C18色谱柱可获得没有拖尾的色谱峰。

使用UPC2/BEH 2-EP分析Ir(Fppy)3的示例

八面体配合物MLa3Lb3有面式(fac)和经式(mer)两种异构体。UPC2技术能够提高异构体分离的可行性,例如八面体配合物异构体的分离。

使用UPC2 BEH 2-EP色谱柱分离Ir(Fppy)3面式/经式异构体的示例如下方的图2所示。

杂质结构表征

创新纯化方法

蒸馏并生产纯度极高的有机EL材料一直是业内一大难题。针对难以通过蒸馏进行纯化的材料,人们已经开发出了多种纯化和合成方法来解决去除类似物的问题。为解决这一难题,沃特世推出了创新纯化技术:Prep SFC系统。采用Prep SFC,用户可根据自己的需求,将纯化方法从用于杂质结构分析的实验室级系统扩大到用于制备级纯化的小试系统,甚还能扩大到工业生产规模。

SFCq 100系统示例                               SFC 350系统示例

化学与材料科学应用主页
索取演示样品
联系我们获取更多信息

超高效聚合物色谱系统APC

ACQUITY APC系统:性能化

ACQUITY APC系统上的方法开发

提升聚合物分离速度、分辨率、灵活性

ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱系统

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions to enhance the competitiveness of organic electroluminescent material products

Strict quality standards and high purification are critical in fabrication of organic electroluminescent (EL) materials. To develop and manufacture highly competitive organic EL products, companies need to focus on three determining factors: basic performance (novelty), stabilization of component materials quality and supply, and cost. Waters’ approach to these issues is a purification method using Supercritical Fluid Chromatography (SFC), which enables the ability to provide highly purified products, as well as the Ultra Performance Convergence Chromatography (UPC2), which enables strict quality control as the key differentiating technology to improve EL materials’ product competitiveness.

Quality factor analysis
Organic EL materials, comprising organic electric materials, is a high value-added product and only a handful  of advanced companies are able to produce it. The value of EL products and the investment in technology and expertise needed for their fabrication makes it important for manufacturers to improve the yield per production line, as well as product quality for product differentiation. The value of analysis is increased by the identification of impurities and feeding back the results to improve the process control and purification process. At Waters, we recommend a combination of the UPLC/Xevo G2 QTof system and a multivariate analysis software, Progenesis QI, to enable manufacturers to isolate factors related to lot-to-lot variability, and to predict the structure of differentiation factors.

Impurity Profiling
Quantitative analysis with high peak capacity is essential for monitoring and quality control in the manufacturing process of organic EL materials. Similarly, analysis of separation/determination is important when profiling impurities in the developmental phase, as well as when selecting and planning the purification method. Normal- or reversed-phase liquid chromatography (LC) is traditionally used in separation analysis. However, when it comes to separating organic EL materials, there are concerns such as the potential for overlooking unseparated isomers and analogs, as well as compounds that remain in the column due to polarity or complex molecular structure. Waters recommends the complementary use of the UPLC H-Class and the UPC2 for the impurity profiling of organic EL materials.

UPLC H-Class/PDA system

  • Optimize the development of efficient reversed-phase separation conditions
  • Apply a condition using solvents with high-elution performance in a mixed solution-sending system with four types of solutions
  • CSH column optimized for the analysis of aromatic tertiary amines

Peak-purity test using a PDA detector

Example of the analysis of BDABVi using the UPLC H-Class/CSH C18
The peaks of the isomers that can be overlooked in traditional HPLC are detected by using UPLC technology as demonstrated in Fig 1.

Fig. 1 Peak shape without tailing can be obtained by using the CSH C18 column.

Example of analysis of Ir(Fppy)3 using the UPC2/BEH 2-EP
There are two types of isomers, the facial (fac) type and the meridional (mer) type, that exist in octahedral complexes, MLa3Lb3. UPC2 is a technology that can increase the feasibility of isomer separation such as in octahedral complexes.

An example of the separation of facial/meridional type isomers of Ir(Fppy)3 using an UPC2 BEH 2-EP columns is shown in Fig 2 below.

Structural elucidation of impurities

Novel purification method
Distilling and manufacturing extremely pure organic EL materials remains a daunting task for the industry. For materials that are difficult to purify by distillation, several purification methods and synthetic methods have been studied to solve the problem of removing analogs. To resolve this challenge, Waters introduced a novel purification technique: Prep SFC systems. Using Prep SFC, the purification method is selectable from a lab-scale system for the structural analysis of impurities to a bench-scale system for preparation purification, and even to the industrial production, depending on the customers’ need.

Example of the SFCq 100 system                      Example of the SFC 350 system

Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System