化學與材料科學應用主頁

有機合成化學解決方案

合成化學不只在於合成新的化合物,也在於為材料偵測、製藥及生命科學領域的各種用途研究及製備新的化合物。不過,要有效地開發有機化合物合成途徑並不容易,因為合成化學家在分析方面不斷遇到各式各樣的挑戰,例如不純物分離、製備與純化;分子量測定;擷取精準產率;TLC (薄層層析點片法) 與方法開發。要提高有機化合物合成作業的速度和經濟效益,製造商必須設法提升自己在不純物剖析與鑑定以及合成結果驗證方面的能力。

不純物剖析與鑑定以及合成結果驗證

圖 1 不純物剖析與鑑定系統解決方案

要開發有機化合物的合成途徑,就必須驗證不純物剖析結果及檢查合成化合物。為了預測不純物結構,需直接注入樣品並使用質譜進行分析,和/或以製備型 LC (Prep-LC) 濃縮樣品後,使用核磁共振 (NMR) 或傅立葉轉換紅外光譜技術 (FTIR) 進行測定。根據以 LC/MS 和 GC/MS 取得的分子量資訊,或是基於合成路徑預測的結構也可以預測不純物結構。此外,還能運用根據精確質量分析成分的飛行時間質譜儀 (Tof-MS) 提升預測準確度。Waters 提供多種解決方案,包括能夠直接分析 TLC 上之不純物斑點的大氣壓固體分析探針 (ASAP)、非常適合用於分離不純物的 UPLC 技術、採用 Empower 軟體的峰純度測試、能夠降低漏看不純物機率的 PDA 偵測器,以及能夠提高方法開發效率的 UPLC H-Class 系統解決方案。

使用 ASAP/QTof MS 鑑定不純物與監測反應的範例

ASAP (大氣壓固體分析探針)

只要幾分鐘的時間,就能將用於直接導入固體樣品的 ASAP 探針更換為用於 LC/MS 分析的 ESCi 探針。

使用 ASAP 時,先將樣品置於拆卸式導入探針的玻璃毛細管,再將其導入真空系統中。相較於 GC/MS 的直接導入式探針,由於是在大氣壓之下進行的游離法,因此可以省略在真空系統中進行分離的程序。此外,由於不會直接將樣品導入真空系統中,因此可以避開真空系統內部所有會對靈敏度造成不良影響的污染源。

若要分析任何合成溶液及粉末,以及任何中間體溶液,只要將樣品沾附於玻璃毛細管的即可。分析人員還可以即時確認是否成功合成出目標化合物。因此,這種方法能夠運用於監控反應。使用 QTof MS 也可以分析主要成分和不純物,以及利用 MS/MS 預測結構。圖 2 所示為分析結果範例。


圖 2 以 ASAP/MS 分析八氫氧吖啶中的不純物

製備型 LC 所採用的製備管柱技術

將使用 HPLC 的分析條件放大製備型 LC 系統時,您是否遇到過下列問題?

1. 分離能力減弱
2. 缺少再現性
3. 需多次注入才能取得 NMR 所需的量

將方法條件放大為製備規模時遇到的這些問題大多數是因為製備管柱的層床密度較低。層床密度取決於管柱長度 (L) 與內徑 (D) 的比例 (L/D)。因此,傳統高壓漿液填充製備管柱的內徑較大,L/D 比分析管柱小,層床密度自然較低。


圖 3 L/D (管柱長/內徑) 對層床密度的影響

OBD (層床密度) 技術
層床密度 (OBD) 製備管柱*運用創新的硬體及充填法,是一種創新的製備管柱,不但能在不受 L (管柱長) / D (內徑) 比例影響的情況下提供一致的層床密度,也能在管柱入口到出口之間提供均勻的密度梯度。
* 美國專利號碼 7,399,410/英國專利號碼 GB 2 408 469


圖 4 採用 OBD 技術進行理論放大的層析圖

理論預測放大

我們已經成功完成了分析方法從分析管柱 (XBridge C18 4.6 x 50 mm) 到 OBD 製備管柱 (XBridge C18 19 x 50 mm,與分析管柱採用相同材料) 的理論預測放大。針對 XBridge、HSS 及 XSelect,我們提供採用相同材料的 UPLC 管柱系列產品 (BEH、CSH 和 HSS)。因此,您可以進行 UPLC 管柱到 OBD 製備管柱的理論預測放大。

精確產量測定解決方案

產量測定系統 (具備峰純度測試功能)
UPLC H-Class/PDA

取得精準產量的困難點:

  • 合成路線開發涉及特性不同的不純物
  • 優化每一條合成途徑的 LC 條件時效率低下
  • 難以確認主要成分的峰純度

合成圖徑開發的精準產產率測定工作流程

圖 5 合成路線開發的精準產量測定工作流程

圖 6 Empower3 軟體中以 PDA 光譜圖進行的峰純度測試

峰純度測試箭頭能夠輔助以目視方式觀察樣品中是否含有不純物

使用 Empower 3 進行峰純度測試
UPLC H-Class/PDA 系統與 Empower 3 軟體的組合能夠解決開發合成途徑階段可能會面臨的分析挑戰。這個組合有助於監控反應,以及透過超高速分離技術分離不純物。此外,利用峰純度測試還能測得更精準的產量,確認不會有不純物峰與主要成分峰重疊的情形。

分析方法開發解決方案

分析方法開發系統
UPLC H-Class/PDA (配備管柱管理器)

快速開發分離/分析條件:

  • 運用 Auto•Blend Plus,透過即時且更符合成本效益的方式優化移動相
  • 開發出的分析條件也能運用於使用 HPLC 管柱進行的分析
  • 運用 UPLC 的速度優勢全面研究分離條件
  • 運用無經驗者也能依據開發條件的範本研究分離條件
  • 使用管柱管理器 (選配設備) 自動切換管柱

快速優化移動相的範例
一般而言,按相同比例執行完整梯度期間,需要製備酸性有機溶液移動相和酸性水相移動相用於優化酸度。因此,人們經常為了達到優化目的而捨棄許多製備好的移動相。結合於 UPLC H-Class 的 Auto•Blend Plus功能可以任意設定每種移動相的混合比例 (如下所示),也能在不需要為每一項條件單獨製備移動相的前提下優化酸度和分析條件。在優化 THF 和 ACN 這類經常作為有機成分使用之有機溶劑的混合比例時,這種方法非常有效率。


圖 7 以四溶媒溶劑管理器優化移動相的範例。


圖 8 移動相中的添加劑濃度對分離效果造成的影響。

這些圖表說明分離效果明顯受到 TFA 濃度的影響。紅框內的圖譜顯示提高 TFA 濃度會提升分離效果,綠框內的層析峰順序出現了變化。若使用二溶媒系統研究左圖所示這三種條件的移動相,需製備六種類型的混合溶劑。

若使用 Auto Blend Plus 功能,只要在控制軟體中變更溶劑混合比例,就能提供一組結果,不需要製備不同酸度的混合溶劑。

化學與材料科學應用主頁
樣品DEMO需求
聯絡我們了解更多

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for organic synthetic chemistry

Synthetic chemistry not only synthesizes new compounds but also designs and prepares new compounds that can result in numerous applications in materials detection, pharmaceuticals and life sciences. Nonetheless, effectively developing a synthetic route for organic compounds is never easy as synthetic chemists are always facing a range of analytical challenges such as impurity isolation, preparation and purification; molecular weight measurement; accurate yield acquisition; TLC (spot) and method development. To ensure fast and economical organic compound synthesis, it is vital for manufacturers to up their game in the aspects of profiling and identification of impurities as well as verification of synthesis.

Profiling and identification of impurities as well as verification of synthesis

Fig.1 Systemic solutions for the profiling and identification of impurities

To develop a synthetic route for organic compounds, the verification of impurity profiling as well as examination of synthetic compounds is required. To predict the structure of impurities, the sample needs to be analyzed using mass spectrometry by direct sample introduction and/or a Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) or Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FTIR) measurement after concentration of the sample by preparative-LC (Prep-LC). Impurity structure may also be predicted based on the molecular weight information from LC/MS and GC/MS as well as on the structure predicted from a synthetic route. Moreover, a time-of-flight mass spectrometer (Tof-MS), which analyzes the components based on their accurate mass, is available to improve the accuracy of prediction. Waters provides a variety of solutions, including the Atmospheric Pressure Solids Analysis Probe (ASAP) — which is available to directly analyze impurity spots appearing on the TLC — along with UPLC technology optimal for the separation of impurities, the peak-purity test using Empower software, a PDA detector that enables the reduction of the overlooking of impurities, and UPLC H-Class systemic solutions, which increase the efficiency of method development.

Examples of the identification of impurities and reaction monitoring using the ASAP/QTof MS


ASAP (Atmospheric Pressure Solids Analysis Probe)

The probe is exchangeable within a couple of minutes from ASAP for the direct introduction of solid samples to an ESCi probe for LC/MS.

In the ASAP, the sample is put on a glass capillary at the tip of the detachable introduction probe before being introduced to the vacuum system. In contrast to the direct introduction probe for the GC/MS, a procedure for separation from a vacuum system is no longer required because ionization is carried out under atmospheric pressure. In addition, any contamination in the vacuum system that may negatively affect the sensitivity can be avoided because the sample is not introduced directly into the vacuum system.

Any synthetic solutions and powders, as well as any intermediate solutions, can also be analyzed through adherence to the tip of the glass capillary. Whether or not the target compounds are successfully produced can also be confirmed in a timely manner. Therefore, this method can be applied to reaction monitoring. The analysis of major component and impurity, and structure prediction by MS/MS are also available using the QTof MS. Figure 2 shows an example of the results of analysis.

Fig.2 Analysis of impurities from Octahydroacridin using the ASAP/MS

Preparative column technology in the Prep-LC

Have you ever experienced the following problems during a scale-up from an analytical condition using HPLC to a Prep-LC system?

1. Decrease in separation capability
2. Lack of reproducibility
3. Too many times injections needed to obtain the volume required for an NMR

Most of these issues occurring during a scale-up to the preparative scale result from the lower bed density of the preparative column. The bed density depends on the ratio of the column length (L) to the inner dimension (D) (L/D). Therefore, the bed density is lower in traditional high-pressure slurry packing preparative columns with a larger inner diameter and a smaller L/D than the analytical columns.

Fig.3 Effect of bed density on L/D (column length/inner diameter)

OBD (Optimum Bed Density) technology
The Optimum Bed Density (OBD) preparative column*, which applies innovative hardware and packing methods, is a breakthrough preparative column that provides not only a consistent bed density independent of the ratio of L (column length) / D (inner diameter), but also a uniform density gradient from the entrance of the column to the exit.
* U.S. Patent No. 7,399,410/U.K. Patent No.GB 2 408 469


Fig.4 Chromatogram of theoretical scale-up by OBD technology

Theoretically predicted scale-up

The theoretically predicted scale-up is realized from the analytical column (XBridge C18 4.6 x 50 mm) to the OBD preparative column (XBridge C18 19 x 50 mm), which adopted the same materials as the analytical column. For the preparative columns of XBridge, HSS and XSelect, we provide product lines of UPLC columns (BEH, CSH, and HSS) that have adopted the same materials. Therefore, the theoretically predicted scale-up from a UPLC column to an OBD preparative column can be performed.

Solution for precise yield measurement

Yield measurement system (with a peak-purity test function)
UPLC H-Class/PDA

Challenges in acquiring accurate yield:

  • Different impurity profiles in the synthetic routes development
  • Inefficiency when optimizing an LC condition for each synthetic route
  • Difficulty in ensuring the purity of the peak of the major components

Workflow of accurate yield measurement in synthetic route development

Fig.5 Workflow of accurate yield measurement in synthetic route development

Fig.6 Peak-purity test by PDA spectrum in Empower3 software

Peak-purity test arrows to visually understand the presence of impurities in the sample

Peak-purity test using Empower 3
The combination of the UPLC H-Class/PDA system and Empower 3 software enables the ability to solve analytical challenges that may occur while developing a synthetic route. This combination facilitates response monitoring and impurity isolation through ultra-high-speed separation. Additionally, a more accurate yield can be obtained with a peak-purity test to confirm that no peaks from impurities are overlapped in the peak of the major component.

Solution for the development of analytical methods

System for assay development
UPLC H-Class/PDA with a column manager

For the prompt development of a separation/analysis condition:

  • Prompt and more cost-effective optimization of the mobile phase by Auto Blend Plus
  • The developed assay condition is also able to be applied for analysis using the HPLC columns
  • Comprehensive study of separation condition, utilizing the advantage in speed of the UPLC
  • Study of separation condition using templates that enable the ability to develop a condition without experience
  • Automatic switching of columns using the column manager (optional equipment)

Examples of prompt optimization of the mobile phase
Generally, acidic organic solvent-based and water-based mobile phases are needed to be prepared for optimization of the acidity in a whole gradient run time at the same ratio. Therefore, many of the mobile phases prepared are disposed of for optimization. The Auto Blend Plus function incorporated into the UPLC H-Class allows the ability to set the mixing-ratio arbitrarily for each mobile phase as shown below, as well as enable the ability to optimize the acidity and analytical conditions without preparing every mobile phase for each condition. This is efficient for the optimization of the mixing-ratio of the organic solvents, such as THF and ACN, which are frequently used as organic materials.

Fig.7 Example of optimizing mobile phase by Quaternary Solvent Manager.

Fig.8 Effect of additive concentration in mobile phase on separation.

These charts suggest that the separation was clearly influenced by TFA concentration. The waveforms within the red frame indicate that the separation was improved by increasing TFA concentration, and the order of elution peaks within the green frame was changed. Six types of solvent mixture are needed to be prepared for a study of the mobile phase with these three conditions shown at left using a binary system.

If the Auto Blend Plus function is used, a set of results will be provided by changing the mixing-ratio of solvents on the control software without preparing solvent mixtures of different acidity.

Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System