化学与材料科学应用主页

采用创新APGC技术的聚合物表征方案

随着监管要求越来越严格,竞争越来越激烈,聚合物表征已成为提升聚合物材料质量标准、加快产品创新必不可少的解决方案。聚合物生产商们利用高解析能力的热裂解气相色谱质谱联用法(EGA-GC/MS)大幅缩短了处理时间,同时降低了对重要指标组分进行元素组成和化学结构评估的复杂性,有力推动了分析研究和业务的成功。

热裂解气相色谱质谱联用法(EGA-GC/MS)

聚合物结构分析和表征是开发性能更优异且具有新功能的新型合成聚合物材料的基础。针对这些聚合物材料开发了一系列分析方法用于聚合物表征。

例如,热裂解气相色谱质谱联用法(EGA-GC/MS)就是进行聚合物结构表征的分析方法之一。先在EAG指定的温度下将聚合物样品热裂解,然后进样毛细管色谱柱中。热裂解后的组分随后将由毛细管色谱柱进行分离,然后电离,最后由MS检出。EGA-GC/MS采集的数据将便于鉴定样品中的聚合物组分。

对于聚合物热裂解行为分析,GC/电子轰击(EI)-四极杆MS是一种常用的成熟方法。然而,EGA-GC/EI-MS采集的总离子流色谱图(TIC)等数据非常复杂,数据处理难度较大,因为热裂解过程中生成了多种热裂解物质。此外,EI还会产生许多与分子关联不大的碎片离子。

大气压气相色谱(APGC)QTof MS联用APGC是一种大气压下的“软”电离技术,是一个变革。对于许多化合物而言,采用“软”电离技术与采用如EI这样的电离技术比产生的碎片离子更少。

APGC电离可产生分子或准分子离子,与大气压化学电离(APCI)类似。因此,进行多变量分析时,使用APGC数据集可大幅缩短包括峰去卷积在内的数据处理时间。沃特世QTof MS(四极杆-飞行时间质谱)的MSE采集模式可同时采集样品中所有组分的MS谱图和碎片离子谱图。将Q-Tof MSAPGC离子源和MSE数据采集模式联用,能够更轻松地评估重要指标组分的元素组成和化学结构,即使在GC分析中也同样适用。

1.热裂解器-GC/APGC-QTof

热裂解过程中无规共聚物和嵌段共聚物行为的对比分析示例

我们使用热裂解器-GC/APGC-QTof(图1)分析丙烯酸-苯乙烯共聚物,然后利用 Progenesis QI 软件的多变量分析(MVA)功能提取了两个样品之间存在显著差异的指标物质,并鉴定了化合物结构。

MSE数据采集可提供分子相关离子(母离子)数据和碎片离子数据。母离子数据被用于通过多变量分析找出指标物质并确定其元素组成,而碎片离子数据则被用于结构表征,如图2所示。

2. MSE采集的谱图

结构表征和重要指标物质提取

聚合物材料的功能和性能取决于聚合物的结构差异,例如聚合度和单体配比。通过表征聚合物,我们可以解析特征组分的结构,进而开发新的材料。使用Progenesis QI进行MVA分析可轻松找出各样品中组分之间的显著差异,并将其作为指标物质提取出来。此外,还可以对指标物质进行元素组成分析和结构表征,如图34所示。

3.嵌段和无规共聚物的得分图和S-plot (OPLS-DA)

4.嵌段共聚物中指标物质的结构表征

嵌段共聚物的裂解化合物也会像无规共聚物的裂解化合物一样被检出,但它们的结构不同。在无规共聚物中,化合物含相邻单体,彼此不同更容易检出。可能是由α碳彼此直接相连而成的不规则聚合物产生的碎片离子也会作为无规共聚物的特征组分检出,如图5所示。

5.各共聚物中检出的特有指标物质的结构

借助APGC获取分子离子信息、通过MSE同时检出母离子及碎片离子信息、使用Progenesis QI轻松高效地提取并鉴定指标物质,这套涵盖数据采集到数据处理的简单工作流程有助于制造商更加高效地表征聚合物,进而开发出新型材料。

大气压气相色谱(APGC)

  • “软”电离技术,碎片离子生成量更少

  • 高度灵敏的母离子可提供高灵敏度和选择性

  • 基于母离子谱图分析元素组成,基于碎片离子谱图进行结构表征

UPLC/四极杆、飞行时间质谱(UPLC/Xevo G2-XS QTof)

  • 基于IntelliStart的自动校准

  • 基于LockSpray精准测定精确质量数

  • 基于i-Fit的精确元素组成分析

  • 非常适用于超高效液相色谱(UPLC)

  • 适用于ESCi、APCI/APPI、ASAPAPGC

 Progenesis QI

化学与材料科学应用主页
索取演示样品
联系我们获取更多信息

超高效聚合物色谱系统APC

ACQUITY APC系统:性能化

ACQUITY APC系统上的方法开发

提升聚合物分离速度、分辨率、灵活性

ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱系统

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for polymer characterization with novel technology of APGC

In the wake of complex regulatory considerations and stiff competition, polymer characterization has emerged as an indispensable solution to improve the quality standards of polymeric materials and speed product innovation. Polymer manufacturers’ adoption of cutting-edge Pyrolysis-Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (Py-GC/MS) has significantly compressed processing time, and reduced the complexity of estimating the elemental composition and chemical structure of significant marker components to drive their analytical discovery and business success.

Pyrolysis-Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (Py-GC/MS)

Structural analysis and characterization of polymers is the corner stone of the development of new synthetic polymer materials with higher performance and new functions. These polymer materials are developed through a range of analytical methods for polymer characterization.

Pyrolysis-Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (Py-GC/MS), for instance, is one of the methods to approach structural elucidation of polymer. It begins with a polymer sample being pyrolyzed at a temperature determined by Pyrolyzer before it is introduced into a capillary column. Pyrolyzed components are then separated through the capillary column, ionized and detected by MS. Data acquired on Py-GC/MS is used to facilitate the identification of polymeric composition of the sample.

For polymer pyrolysis behavior analysis, GC/Electron Ionization (EI)-Quadrupole-MS has proven a well-understood and commonly-used method. Conversely, a method such as Total Ion Chromatogram (TIC) acquired on Py-GC/EI-MS is extremely complex for data processing because various pyrolyzed materials are generated in the pyrolysis process. In addition, EI produces many fragmented ions rather than molecular related ions.

Atmospheric Pressure Gas Chromatography (APGC) coupled with QTof MS
APGC ionization is a “softer” technique under atmospheric pressure and has an alternative. The ionization is “soft” meaning that less fragmentation is observed for many compounds when compared with techniques such as EI.

Ionization in APGC is analogous to atmospheric pressure chemical ionization (APCI) insomuch as molecular or quasi-molecular ions are produced. Accordingly, regarding multivariate analysis, processing time including peak deconvolution can be significantly reduced by using the APGC data set. MSE acquisition mode on Waters QTof MS (Quadrupole-Time Of Flight MS) can obtain MS spectrum and fragment spectrum of all components in the sample at the same time. By using QTof MS in conjunction with the APGC ionization source and MSE data acquisition, it makes it easier to estimate elemental composition and chemical structures of important marker components even on GC analysis.

Fig.1 Pyrolyzer-GC/APGC-QTof

An example of comparative analysis of random and block copolymer behavior at pyrolysis
Acrylic acid-Styrene copolymer was analyzed on Pyrolyzer-GC/APGC-QTof (Fig.1), and markers with significant differences between these two samples were extracted by multivariate analysis (MVA) of Progenesis QI software and the structure of the compound was identified.

MSE data acquisition provides molecular-related ion (precursor ion) data and fragment ion data. Precursor ion data is used for extracting markers by multivariate analysis and determining its elemental composition whereas fragment ion data is used for structural elucidation as demonstrated in Fig.2.

Fig.2 Spectrum on MSE acquisition

Structural elucidation and significant markers extraction
The functions and performance of polymer materials are determined by the structural differences of polymers such as the degree of polymerization and ratio of monomers. By means of polymer characterization, we can elucidate the structures of characteristic components for development of new materials. By conducting a MVA through Progenesis QI, significant differences among components in each sample can be easily highlighted and extracted as makers. In addition, elemental composition and structural elucidation of these markers can also be performed as shown in Fig. 3 and 4.

Fig.3 Score and S-plot on block and random copolymer (OPLS-DA)

Fig.4 Structural elucidation of markers in block copolymer

The pyrolyzed compounds with structure in which adjacent monomers are different from each other were easily detected in the random copolymer than in the block copolymer. Fragment structure suggests irregular polymerization in which alpha-carbons directly bonded to each other can also be detected as a component peculiar to the random copolymer as shown in Fig. 5.

Fig. 5 Structure of identified markers peculiar to each copolymer

Molecular related ion information by APGC, precursor and fragment ion information detected at the same time by MSE, easily and efficiently extracting identifying markers by Progenesis QI, in a simple workflow from acquiring data to processing data can provide more efficient characterization of polymer for developing new materials.

Atmospheric Pressure Gas Chromatography (APGC)

  • Soft ionization provides less fragmentation
  • Highly-sensitive precursor ion provides high sensitivity and selectivity
  • Elemental composition by precursor spectrum as well as structural elucidation by fragment spectrum

UPLC/Quadrupole, Time-of-flight Mass Spectrometer (UPLC/Xevo G2-XS QTof)

  • Auto-calibration by IntelliStart
  • Precise accurate mass measurement by LockSpray
  • Precise analysis by i-Fit
  • Optimum for ultra performance liquid chromatography (UPLC)
  • Applicable to the ESCi, APCI/APPI, ASAP, APGC
Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Poster