化学与材料科学应用主页

基于超高效聚合物色谱(APC)的聚合物表征解决方案

聚合物是具有特定分子量分布的分子混合物,在高分子材料领域,人们开发具有此类分子量分布的混合物并将其用于各种用途。因此,准确表征分子量分布是提高材料质量标准、加快产品创新的重要途径。采用先进的体积排阻色谱(SEC)进行材料表征,不仅能缩短分析和处理时间,还能通过更加详尽的表征分析来提高产品质量,从而让企业取得成功。

一般来说,目前还没有技术能够将合成聚合物分离和纯化为不同链长的分子,即分析结果中一定存在分子量分布。另一方面,研究已表明分子量和不规则度(分子量分布)的差异会极大地影响聚合物的基本性能,进而影响材料特性。因此,对于用作高分子材料的聚合物,需要通过改善和控制分子量分布来满足市场需求。如今,高分子材料的应用日趋多样化。为了开发出性能、功能特性优异的材料用于不同用途,材料分子设计(包括分子量控制在内)必不可少。

体积排阻色谱(SEC)又称凝胶渗透色谱(GPC),是一种广泛用于测定分子量分布的技术。可测量的参数包括数均分子量、重均分子量、Z均分子量以及关键的分子量分布(这是聚合物的一项基本属性)。此外,分离能力强大的GPC还能分离复杂高分子化合物中的聚合物、低聚物、单体和添加剂等组分。假设添加到高分子材料中的添加剂类型和比例完全相同,一旦批次之间的分子量分布出现细微差别,且高分子量聚合物在加工过程中被过度混合,最终产品的特性可能就会出现极大差异。因此,如果产品的最终用途对材料的性能要求非常严格,或者要求产品能够承受苛刻的使用条件,聚合物表征就显得尤其重要。

合格产品与不合格产品的分子量分布差异示例

在此我们以两款由相同聚合物树脂制成的材料为例,它们的拉伸强度和熔体粘度完全相同,但加工成耐用产品后的性能差异却很大。这是因为两种材料在分子量分布上存在细微差别,进而导致了产品性能方面的显著差异。GPC能够分离和检测材料之间微小差异,这不仅有助于减少存在严重缺陷的产品、提高产量,还能极大推动高附加值产品的开发。

超高效聚合物色谱ACQUITY APC

ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱(ACQUITY APC)是一种分析速度快且分离度高的技术,该技术基于分子体积进行分离,采用低扩散的ACQUITY系统和检测器,以及填充有大孔径刚性杂化颗粒的色谱柱。如图所示,与传统GPC相比,APC的分离度更高且分析时间更短。

能够获得如此优异的结果,得益于以下关键技术。

<杂化颗粒色谱柱>

  • 使用亚乙基桥杂化颗粒(BEH)填料作为色谱柱固定相,填料粒径更小(小于3 μm),色谱柱可耐受的压力更高。

  • 柱床稳定性更出色

  • 孔径和粒径经过优化,可以提供无可匹敌的分离速度、分离度和色谱效率。

  • ACQUITY UPLC技术引入GPC的低扩散系统

  • 可耐受高压,具有稳定的泵系统

  • 检测器采用小体积流通池,不会影响峰分离度

APC技术给聚合物表征带来的优势包括…

  • 低扩散系统与小粒径的高性能色谱柱相结合,可得到分离度高、峰形清晰的色谱峰

  • 可在不影响色谱分离度的前提下实现高速分析。

  • 一套系统即可运行使用多种溶剂的分析。
    系统体积较小,且不会像聚合物固定相那样经常发生收缩和膨胀,因此可快速切换溶剂。

  • 由于流速稳定、精确,系统体积小,色谱重复性更出色。
    任何微小的流量波动都可能会导致分子量测定出现重大偏差,使用能够精确控制流量的设备是明智之选。

ACQUITY APC色谱柱

在开发高分子材料的过程中,我们需要研究各种类型的基础聚合物、端基、分子量区域以及分子量分布。ACQUITY APC XT色谱柱为您提供最适合具体应用的各种色谱柱配置。例如,您可以建立特定的色谱柱配置,使其覆盖宽泛的分子量范围,将添加剂、单体到目标聚合物本身都包括在内,或者将目标分子量范围集中在低分子量或高分子量区域。

使用APC色谱柱选择工具可以轻松计算针对目标分子量范围选择色谱柱配置的模拟结果。

分离度高、分析速度快的优势不仅有助于分析人员在短时间内获得更详细的信息,还有助于他们快速轻松地获得更多的校准曲线数据点,从而更好地完成表征分析。另外,每次分析都可以创建校准曲线,有效提高了数据质量和可靠性。

Empower 3软件

Empower 3软件是一款色谱数据软件(CDS)包,可以采集、管理、处理数据和生成报告。可处理GPC色谱图的GPC选项能够以多种方式显示聚合物数据,包括分子量分布图。根据使用单分散标准品或宽标准品绘制的校准曲线,该软件不仅可以自动计算分子量片段的不同平均分子量结果(例如Mn、Mw、Mz、Mp、Mw/Mn),从而轻松表征聚合物,还能灵活地创建自定义报告。

功能性电子聚合物材料

在具有功能性的聚合物材料中,电子聚合物材料近年来尤其活跃。每种材料所需的性能是不同的,但由于电子聚合物材料的性能要求不同于一般聚合物(如涂覆性、光敏性、热稳定性、弹性、机械强度、轻量特性、防水性、透氧性等),开发时不仅要考虑添加剂的类型和混合比例,还必须谨慎设计基础聚合物本身。

在开发初期就引入APC技术,有助于我们更详尽、更快速地掌握分析结果与其它物理测试结果之间的相关性,以及开发批次之间的差异。通过控制高分子材料特有的分子量分布,可以降低生产成本。

聚合物分子量分布和表征的系统解决方案

ACQUITY APC系统

  1. 分析速度快、分离度高、扩散极低

  2. 经过优化设计的低扩散、低噪音检测器(示差折光检测器、光电二极管阵列检测器,紫外可见检测器、蒸发光散射检测器)

  3. Empower 3软件(GPC选项)

  4. ACQUITY APC色谱柱

  5. ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱校准标准品套件

  6. APC色谱柱选择工具

化学与材料科学应用主页
索取演示样品
联系我们获取更多信息

超高效聚合物色谱系统APC

ACQUITY APC系统:性能化

ACQUITY APC系统上的方法开发

提升聚合物分离速度、分辨率、灵活性

ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱系统

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for polymer characterization with Advanced Polymer Chromatography(APC)

Polymeric substances are mixtures of molecules with a distribution of molecular weights, and in polymeric materials, this mixture has been developed and used with this distribution present. For this reason characterization of molecular weight distribution is an essential solution to improve material quality standards and speed up product innovation. By adopting state-of-the-art size exclusion chromatography (SEC), we not only shorten analyzing and processing time but also improve quality by more detailed characterization analysis, and lead the business to success.

There is generally no technique for separating and purifying a synthetic polymer into individual chain lengths, there will always be a distribution present. On the other hand, it is also known that the difference of molecular weight and degree of irregularity (molecular weight distribution) greatly influence the fundamental properties of polymers, and furthermore the properties as materials. For this reason, polymers used as materials have responded to market needs by improving and controlling this molecular weight distribution. Today the use of polymeric materials is increasingly diversified. Molecular design of materials including control of molecular weight is indispensable in order to obtain higher performance and higher functional materials which are suitable for individual purposes.

Size exclusion chromatography (SEC), also known as gel permeation chromatography (GPC) is a technique widely used for molecular weight distribution measurement. Measurable parameters include number-average molecular weight, weight-average molecular weight, Z-average molecular weight, and critically molecular weight distribution, which is a fundamental property of polymers. In addition, high resolution GPC can also separate complicated polymer compounds into components such as polymers, oligomers, monomers and additives. Assuming the types and ratios of the additives added to the polymer material are exactly the same, if the molecular weight distribution differs even only slightly between the lots, and if the high molecular weight polymer is excessively mixed during processing, the following features in the end use might be significantly different. Hence, polymer characterization is particularly important when strict performance criteria are required for end use or when tolerances are required under harsh conditions in use.

Example of molecular weight distribution between on- and off-specification products

There are two materials made of the same polymer resin, which have exactly the same tensile strength and melt viscosity, but the performance varies greatly when processing to durable products. This is because there is a slight difference in molecular weight distribution between the two materials and it appears as a serious difference in product performance. This is because there is a slight difference in molecular weight distribution between the two materials and it appears as a serious difference in product performance.  The ability to separate and detect small differences on GPC not only reduces products with serious defects, improves yield, but also greatly boost up the development of higher added value products.

Advanced Polymer Chromatography ACQUITY APC

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography (ACQUITY APC) technology is a high-speed, high-resolution, size-based separation technology using a low dispersion ACQUITY system and detector, a rigid and high pore volume hybrid particle column. As shown in the figure, APC has much better resolution performance and improvement of analysis time compared with conventional GPC.

The key technology that brings about this result is as follows.

  • By using Bridged Ethylene Hybrid (BEH)-based material as a stationary phase of column, it can achieve small particle (less than 3um diameter) with high pressure tolerance.
  • Improving bed stability
  • The optimized pore volumes and particle sizes provide unmatched separation speed, resolution and chromatographic efficiency.

  • Low dispersion system introducing ACQUITY UPLC technology into GPC
  • High pressure tolerance and stable pumping system.
  • Detector adopting low volume cell that does not compromise separation of peaks

The advantages of APC technology brings to polymer characterization are…

  • Sharp peak with high resolution by low dispersion system and high performance column with smaller particle size.
  • High speed analysis without compromising high chromatographic resolution.
  • One system with several types of solvent analysis.
    Rapid solvent switching due to low system volume and elimination of the shrinking and swelling that often occurs with polymeric stationary phase.
  • Better chromatographic repeatability by stable and precise flow and low system volume.
    Any minor flow fluctuation will result in a potentially large error in molecular weight. It is to your advantage to use the most precise fluid-handling device you can.

ACQUITY APC column

In the development of polymer materials we deal with various types of base polymers, end groups, molecular weight regions and molecular weight distributions. ACQUITY APC XT column allows you to select columns with appropriate configurations for your application. For example, it is possible to set up a column configuration that covers a wide range of molecular weight, such as additives and monomers to target polymer itself, or a molecular weight range that focuses on low or high molecular weight regions.

A simulation for selecting a column configuration with target molecular weight range can be easily calculated with the APC Column Selector.

High resolution and speed allow not only to acquire more detailed information in a short time, but also to obtain more calibration curve points quickly and easily, thus enabling better characterization analysis. In addition, calibration curves can be created for each analysis to improve data quality and reliability.

Empower 3 software

Empower 3 software is a chromatography data software (CDS) package that allows to acquire data, manage, process, and generate reports. The GPC option to process GPC chromatogram can display polymer data including molecular weight distribution plots in various ways. Based on calibration curves using monodispersed or broad standard samples, this software can automatically calculate not only each average molecular weight such as Mn, Mw, Mz, Mp, Mw/Mn from the sliced molecular weight and easily characterize polymer, but also is flexible software that allow to create customized reports.

Functional electronic polymer materials

Among polymeric materials having high functionality, development of electronics polymer materials is particularly active in recent years. Performance required for each material is different, but because performances different from general-purpose polymers such as coatability, photosensitivity, thermal durability, elasticity, physical strength, light weight, water resistance, oxygen permeability, etc. are required, development is carried out not only from the type and blending ratio of additives but also from the design of the base polymer itself.

By introducing APC technology from the early stage of development, we can understand correlation with other physical test results, difference between development batches etc in more detail and quickly. By controlling the molecular weight distribution peculiar to the polymer material, it is possible to reduce the production cost.

System solution for polymer molecular weight distribution and characterization

ACQUITY APC system

  1. High speed and high resolution, low dispersion system(https://www.waters.com/waters/library.htm?cid=511436&lid=134729285) (https://www.waters.com/waters/en_IN/ACQUITY-Advanced-Polymer-Chromatography-System—The-Next-Era-in-Polymer-Separation/nav.htm?cid=134724426)
  2. Optimally designed low dispersion, low noise detectors (Refractive Index detector, Photodiode Array detector, UV / VIS detector, Evaporative Light Scattering detector)(https://www.waters.com/waters/ACQUITY-UPLC-Refractive-Index-Detector/nav.htm?cid=134726507
  3. Empower 3 software(GPC option)(https://www.waters.com/waters/Empower-3-Chromatography-Data-Software/nav.htm?cid=10190669
  4. ACQUITY APC Column(https://www.waters.com/waters/ACQUITY-APC-Columns/nav.htm?cid=134722533
  5. ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography Calibration Standards Kits(https://www.waters.com/waters/ACQUITY-Advanced-Polymer-Chromatography-Calibration-Standards-Kits/nav.htm?cid=134820439
  6. APC column selector(https://www.waters.com/waters/promotionDetail.htm?id=134823417 )
Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System