化学与材料科学应用主页

应用质谱检测器助力材料质量控制解决方案

产量和良率的提高有助于增加企业利润和保护品牌声誉。因此,分析、识别和控制开发及生产阶段的关键质量因素很有必要。为了让产品达到最高质量,分析技术必须能满足更严格的要求,能解决更为复杂的问题,还要达到更高的灵敏度。质控领域对分析技术的要求也呈现与此类似的趋势。应用适合的分析技术准确可靠地监测各项质量因子,有助于企业更稳定地生产出质量符合设计要求的产品。

使用液相色谱(LC)分析有机材料

使用HPLC分析合成高分子材料中的添加剂或有机材料中的杂质时,由于这些物质在材料中的浓度相对较高且含有发色基团,通常采用UVPDA检测器。

近年来,随着更加多样化、结构更复杂的先进材料不断涌现,新兴化合物和结构类似化合物的应用越来越广泛,杂质的浓度限值变得更低。这源自于材料生产商在产品开发和生产阶段对高产量和高品质的追求,而与此相关的分析则需要更先进且灵敏度更高的分析技术。分析含有多种化合物的材料时,所用分析系统应满足以下要求:

  1. 方法通用性:可运行多种LC条件
  2. 色谱分离性能:可分离带有相同发色基团的结构相似物
  3. 检测器选择性:可区分共流出组分
  4. 检测器灵敏度:可检出痕量杂质

简便易用的质谱检测器

为了应对越来越复杂且浓度限值越来越低的材料分析,可以使用选择性和灵敏度都优于光学检测器的质谱检测器。质谱检测器根据质荷比对离子化组分进行分离和检测,因此拥有基于质量分离组分的选择性,可以检测不含发色基团的化合物,此外,更高的选择性也使其检测灵敏度有所提升。质谱检测器可以替代光学检测器,也可搭配UV/PDA使用,扩展了方法运行、设备维护和操作的灵活性。ACQUITY QDa是一款四极杆质谱检测器,专为惯用光学检测器的用户设计,维护和操作均与光学检测器类似。此外,用户只需添加溶剂兼容扩展套件(ESC套件),就能兼容有机材料分析常用的强有机溶剂流动相(例如四氢呋喃(THF))。以下三个例子展示了在有机材料分析中使用ACQUITY QDa质谱检测器进行质谱分离的优势。

应用示例

1) 分析OLED材料中的杂质

对于有机EL显示器而言,即使浓度极低的杂质也会导致产品质量下降,进而缩短设备使用寿命,因此其杂质浓度限值已降至0.001%左右。例如,若使用有机溶剂溶解有机EL材料得到的溶液浓度为1000 ppm,则材料中0.001%的杂质相当于10 ppb。此外,由于杂质的化学性质通常与主成分相同,因此二者可能具有相同的发色基团,若使用PDA检测器进行分析,吸收波长和/或保留时间可能相同,进而导致杂质在PDA色谱图中无法实现分离。

1是在SIR(选择离子监测)模式下对有机EL材料E709进行杂质分析的示例。我们分析了市面上的几种OLED材料,检测到几种浓度介于0.001%~0.13%之间的杂质。使用THF作为流动相,色谱选择性提高且含有同位素的杂质实现了分离。使用ACQUITY Arc UHPLC系统分离杂质,然后利用QDa质谱检测器进行高灵敏度的质谱检测,可满足OLED市场日益严格的杂质分析要求。

1.OLED材料E709中杂质的色谱图

应用示例

2) 分析合成高分子材料中的多种添加剂

在高分子材料领域,掌握添加剂对产品质量的影响是高分子材料开发和质控监测工作中的一大难题。同类添加剂的基本结构相似,且产品中使用的许多添加剂都具有相同的吸收波长,因此,LC分离度和检测器选择性是准确区分这些添加剂的关键。由于我们使用的某些添加剂不含发色基团,因此PDA检测器与质谱检测器配合使用可以提升鉴定化合物的能力。

2和图3展示了使用PDAQDa(扫描模式)分析添加剂标准品以及MV-10 ASFE超临界流体萃取(SFE)系统萃取的样品得到的色谱图。

尽管一种高分子材料中使用的添加剂种类不会太多,但为了避免添加剂被错误识别为与之相似的其它添加剂,我们仍然需要使用色谱分离度高、重现性良好、选择性优异的色谱系统和检测器。此外,PDAMS谱图结合使用可以提升鉴定能力。采用ACQUITY UPLC H-Class系统和QDa质谱检测器可以解决合成高分子材料开发和质控分析中与添加剂相关的问题。

图2.高分子材料添加剂标准品的色谱图和质谱图。
质谱图为不含发色基团添加剂的示例谱图。

图3.高分子材料添加剂标准品和高分子材料样品的UV色谱图。

应用示例

3) 高分子量HALS(受阻胺光稳定剂)分析

得益于其耐候性,近年来HALS添加剂的应用非常广泛。此外,在某些高分子材料和应用中,HALS与其它稳定剂配合使用还可进一步提升材料的光稳定性或其它性能。然而,由于高分子量的HALS疏水性极强,我们很难将它从高分子材料中萃取出来,而这种极强的疏水性又导致HALS会与反相色谱柱发生强烈的相互作用,因而很难洗脱。因此,这种化合物几乎没有可用的定量方法。图4为HALS标准品分析示例。为洗脱高分子量的HALS,采用了洗脱能力较强的流动相条件,因此可以预见样品中存在的相似化合物会共流出。

ACQUITY QDa质谱检测器与ACQUITY UPLC H-Class系统联用,可根据分子量信息来分离、鉴定和定量化合物,即使对于高分子量的HALS也不例外。

图4.高分子材料添加剂HALS的提取离子流色谱图

在传统检测器的基础上添加质谱检测器之后,用户能更细致地控制决定产品质量的关键因素,从而在开发到生产的每个阶段实现利润最大化。

< BEH(亚乙基桥杂化)色谱柱 >

  • 杂化颗粒技术赋予色谱柱化学稳定性等内在特性
  • 适用于更广的pH范围[pH 1-12]
  • 提供HPLC、UHPLCUPLC粒径规格[1.7、2.5、3.5、510 µm]

< ACQUITY Arc UHPLC /PDA >

  • HPLC/UHLC方法转换首选,可获得与UPLC相同的色谱图
  • 可连续混合四种溶剂
  • 通过峰纯度检测实现高精度表征的光电二极管阵列检测器

< ACQUITY UPLC H-Class / PDA >

  • 色谱选择性宽且理化强度高的UPLC色谱柱
  • 超高速、超高分离度的方法开发和有效的杂质分离
  • 通过峰纯度检测实现高精度表征的光电二极管阵列检测器
  • 可连续混合四种溶剂

< ACQUITY QDa 质谱检测器 >

  • 简便易用的单四极杆检测器,可兼容强有机溶剂
  • 质谱检测采用与光学检测器相同的操作方法,轻松获取质量数信息/li>
  • 直观的操作

< Empower 3 软件 >

  • 内置利用PDA光谱图实现的纯度检测功能和谱图匹配功能
  • 自定义计算和报告功能
  • 针对每个操作员从采集、处理到报告的有效工作流程
  • 符合法规要求

化学与材料科学应用主页
索取演示样品
联系我们获取更多信息

资源

ACQUITY QDa 质谱检测器

ACQUITY QDa质谱检测器产品手册

ACQUITY UPLC H-Class Plus

ACQUITY UPLC H-Class Plus 产品手册

ACQUITY Arc 系统

ACQUITY Arc 系统产品手册

BEH (Ethylene Bridged Hybrid) Technology

超高效聚合物色谱系统APC

ACQUITY APC系统:性能最优化

ACQUITY APC系统上的方法开发

提升聚合物分离速度、分辨率、灵活性

ACQUITY超高效聚合物色谱系统

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solution for material quality control utilizing mass detector

Increasing yields and reducing defective products benefits both profitability and brand reputation. For this reason, it is indispensable to analyze, recognize and control the factors that become critical in the development and manufacturing stage. To achieve the highest quality of product greater demands are made on the analytical techniques used, with more complex questions asked and greater sensitivity required. This analytical trend also applies to quality control. By adopting analytical technology that can accurately and reliably analyze factors to be managed, stable shipments of product with quality as designed can be improved.

Analysis of organic materials using liquid chromatography (LC)

UV and PDA detectors are commonly used for analysis of additives in synthetic polymers and impurities in organic materials using HPLC since their concentrations in materials are relatively high and they contain chromophores.

In recent years, with the diversification and sophistication of advanced materials, the use of new compounds and similar structural compounds has expanded, and the impurity concentration limit has become lower. This is the result of a focus to produce high quality materials with high yield at the development and manufacturing stages, and analysis accompany with this requires more advanced analysis and higher sensitivity. In the analysis of materials in which diversified compounds are used, an analytical system is required which offers the following:

  1. Method versatility : Capability for diverse LC conditions
  2. Chromatographic resolution : Separation of analogous substances with same chromophores
  3. Detector selectivity : Separation of co-elution components
  4. Detector sensitivity : Detection of trace amount of impurities

Easy to use mass detector

In order to cope with material analysis that become complicated and at lower concentrations, a mass spectrometer with higher selectivity and higher sensitivity than the optical detector can be used. Since a mass spectrometer is a detector that separates and detects ionized components in mass-to-charge ratio units, selectivity capable of separating on a mass basis; detection of a compound without a chromophore; and high sensitivity detection due to selectivity become possible. The mass spectrometer can replace the optical detector or used in combination with the UV/PDA. This provides flexibility in methods run as well as from a maintenance and operability perspective. ACQUITY QDa detector is a quadrupole mass detector designed for optical detector users and is a mass detector whose maintenance and operability are similar to that of an optical detector. In addition, a strong organic solvent such as tetrahydrofuran (THF) widely used as a mobile phase for organic material analysis can also be used with the QDa detector by adding an Extended Solvent Compatibility kit (ESC kit).Here are three examples showing the usefulness of mass separation in organic material analysis using ACQUITY QDa detector.

Example application

1)  Impurity analysis in OLED materials

In organic EL displays where low concentration impurities may lead to product degradation and shorten the lifetime of device, permissible impurity concentrations are decreasing to the order of 0.001% in the material. For example, when an organic EL material is dissolved in an organic solvent at 1000 ppm, the 0.001% impurity in the material corresponds to 10 ppb in this solution. In addition, since the impurity often has the same chemistry and therefore chromophore as the main component has, the absorption wavelength at the PDA detector is the same, and/or with a similar retention time, so it may be difficult to separate them in the PDA chromatogram.

Figure 1 shows an example of impurity analysis in organic EL materials E709 acquired in SIR (Selected Ion Recording) mode. In commercialized OLED materials, several impurities were detected at concentration of 0.001 to 0.13%. Also by using THF as mobile phase, chromatographic selectivity is improved and impurities containing isotopes can be separated. Separation of impurities by ACQUITY Arc UHPLC system and highly sensitive mass detection by QDa detector can meet requirement that is demanded more strictly in the OLED market.

Figure 1. Chromatograms of impurities in OLED material E709

Example application

2)  Multiple-additives analysis for synthetic polymers

In the field of polymer materials, from the standpoint of polymer material development and quality assurance, it is a challenge to grasp the influence of additives on quality. Since additives in the same group have similar base structure and many additives with the same absorption wavelength are used, both LC resolution and detector selectivity are important to accurately distinguish them. As there are also additives in use that do not include a chromophore, capability of compound identification improves by using PDA detector and mass detector together.

Figure 2 and 3 show examples of analysis of additive standards and sample extracted from polymer materials by Supercritical Fluid Extraction (SFE), MV-10 ASFE system acquired on PDA and QDa (Scan mode).

Although many kinds of additives are not used for one polymer material, but in order to avoid erroneous identification as analogous additives, adoption of chromatography system and detector that provide high chromatographic resolution, repeatability and selectivity is required. In addition, identification is improved by using both PDA and MS spectra. Adoption of ACQUITY UPLC H-Class system and QDa detector can solve the problem of synthetic polymer additives on development and quality assurance.

Figure 2. UV and mass chromatograms of polymer additive standards.
Mass chromatograms are example of additives without chromophore.

Figure 3. UV chromatograms of polymer additive standards and sample

Example application

3)  High MW HALS (Hindered Amine Light Stabilizer) analysis

HALS are additives which are used widely in recent years due to their resistance against weather, and further, when used in combination with other stabilizers, it is possible to further improve the light stabilizing function and to improve other details depending on polymer and application. However, it is difficult to extract high moleculer weight HALS from polymer materials because of its high hydrophobicity and this hydrophobicity has strong interaction with reverse phase columns making it difficult to elute. Therefore, it is a compound with few quantitative analysis methods. Figure 4 shows an example of analysis of HALS standards. Since the Mobile phase condition with high elution power that can elute high molecule HALS is adopted, it is expected that analogous compounds will co-elute when these are coexisting.

By hyphenating ACQUITY QDa detector with the ACQUITY UPLC H-Class system, it becomes possible to separate, identify and quantify based on molecular weight information even for high MW HALS.

Figure 4. Mass chromatogram of HALS polymer additives

By adding a mass detector in addition to the conventional detectors, you can control factors that become more critical in product quality in more detail and contribute to maximizing profit at each stage from development to production.

< BEH (Ethylene Bridged Hybrid) Technology column >

  • Intrinsic chemical stability of hybrid particle technology
  • Wider usable pH range [pH 1-12]
  • Available in HPLC, UHPLC and UPLC particle sizes [1.7, 2.5, 3.5, 5 and 10 µm]

< ACQUITY Arc UHPLC /PDA >

  • Perfect method transfer to HPLC / UHLC that can produce same chromatographic picture as obtained by UPLC
  • Continuous blending of four solvents
  • Photo Diode Array detector that realizes highly accurate profile by peak-purity test

< ACQUITY UPLC H-Class / PDA >

  • UPLC column with high physical and chemical strength for expanding chromatographic selectivity
  • Ultra high speed and resolution for method development and effective impurity separation.
  • Photo Diode Array detector that realizes highly accurate profile by peak-purity test
  • Continuous blending of four solvents

< ACQUITY QDa detector >

  • Easy-to-use Single Quadropole detector compatible with strong organic solvent
  • Mass detection that can obtain mass information with same operation as optical detector.
  • Intuitive operation

< Empower 3 software >

  • Embedded functionality of purity test and spectrum match with PDA spectrum
  • Customized calculation and reporting function
  • Effective workflow from acquisition, processing to reporting for every operator.
  • Regulatory compliance

Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Resources

ACQUITY QDa Mass Detector

ACQUITY QDa Mass Detector Brochure

ACQUITY UPLC H-Class Plus

ACQUITY UPLC H-Class Plus Brochure

ACQUITY Arc System

ACQUITY Arc System Brochure

BEH (Ethylene Bridged Hybrid) Technology

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System