化學與材料科學應用主頁

聚醯亞胺 (PI) 材料特性分析解決方案

為了保持特種材料市場的獲利能力,製造商必須開發具有特種功能的聚合物材料並即時上市。為了暸解功能性聚合物材料的性能,使用互補和多樣化的分析技術進行分析是不可或缺的。考慮基材設計、配方、物理特性等可以促進功能性聚合物材料的開發和改進。採用化學測試方法以掌握分子層級的資訊,和採用物理測試方法以掌握產品性能與產品本身物理特性的關係,可以有效改善功能性聚合物材料的開發。

聚醯亞胺 (PI) 材料

聚醯亞胺(一種工程塑料)是具有高耐熱性、抗拉強度、彎曲模量和電絕緣等特性的高分子化合物,因此有針對各種用途的訂製產品,例如成膜、軟性 OLED 顯示材料、軟性印刷電路板和鋰離子二次電池的黏合劑。普通的製作方法是用熱處理方法使前驅物聚醯胺酸醯亞胺化。前驅物聚醯胺酸可溶於有機溶劑,但不溶於所產生的聚醯亞胺,因此在醯亞胺化後,僅可使用測量固體樣品的技術。

有幾種技術可以評估聚醯亞胺材料,例如以凝膠滲透層析技術 (GPC) 測量前驅物的分子量分佈、以直接質譜法進行產品的表面和外層分析、以熱解法分析基材結構、以動力學分析法 (DMA) 和差示掃描量熱法 (DSC) 進行物理特性測試。

1) 以超效能高分子層析儀 (APC) 測量分子量分佈

眾所皆知分子量的差異以及不規則程度(分子量分佈)會大幅影響聚合物的基本屬性,因而進一步影響材料性質。以聚醯亞胺為例,測量前驅物聚醯胺酸的分子量分佈可評估分子量分佈的改善和控制。下圖顯示了使用 ACQUITY 超效能高分子層析 (ACQUITY APC) 測量聚醯胺酸的結果。有關 APC 的原理和技術資訊,請參閱 “利用超效能高分子層析系統 (APC) 打造聚合物特性分析解決方案”

圖. 以超效能高分子層析系統分析聚醯胺酸(n=5)

對於功能性聚合物材料,高解析度、基於分子大小分離組分的技術勝過傳統GPC技術,能更精確和準確地測量分子量分佈。此外,由於它在通量和可重複性方面較傳統GPC技術進步,因此能夠更快速地執行準確評估,可用於日常校正和改善材料品質。

2) 使用脫附電噴灑游離-四極桿飛行時間質譜 (DESI-QTof) 進行表面分析

一些技術可用於直接分析材料表面,例如 AEX、XPS、Tof-SIMS 和 MALDI。然而,根據我們想要獲得的資訊類型(例如表面的元素資訊、分子結構資訊、表面物質的濃度和分佈、深度方向資訊),可以使用的技術有限。DESI 是一種質譜成像技術,透過噴射帶電微滴溶劑,萃取、脫附和電離材料表面組分,並將產生的離子導入高解析度質譜儀 (HRMS) 進行檢測。DESI 具有以下特徵,可將表面聚合物添加劑的分佈、表面組分的降解情況比較、污染物附著情況、清潔效果測量結果和材料表面的化學變化視覺化。

對照樣品和經NMP超音波處理樣品的比較,顯示在下圖中。通過從全掃描數據中提取樣品間存在強度差異的具體分子量,可以將表面組分的豐富度和分佈差異視覺化。A) 為全譜成像,B) 是在同一點上連續測量 10 次的結果。

圖. 使用 DESI-QTof MS 分析聚醯亞胺膜

3) 以熱解器-APGC-QTof(大氣壓氣相層析)分析基材結構

要開發效能更高並具備新功能的全新聚合物材料,必須以聚合物結構分析與特性研究為基石。熱解-氣相層析質譜 (Py-GC/MS) 是廣泛使用的聚合物結構分析技術之一。將聚合物的熱解組分導入毛細管柱中進行分離、離子化,並用MS進行檢測。儘管利用 Py-GC/MS 所獲得的數據可分析材料元素和組成,但是電子游離法 (EI) 作為一種用於 GC/MS 的傳統游離技術,會產生許多非分子相關的碎片離子,使得結構分析極為複雜。

為了降低結構分析過程的複雜性,大氣壓氣相層析 (APGC) 結合高解析度 QTof 質譜儀更適合用來分析聚合物結構。與 EI 相比,這種軟游離技術觀察到的碎片離子更少,可以獲得分子相關的離子資訊。由於本系統可故意在 MS 內部產生碎片離子,因此分析一次樣品可獲得分子相關離子和與前驅物離子相關的碎片離子的精確質量資訊。此外,支援結構分析的 UNIFI 軟體可輕鬆估計關鍵標記組分的元素組成和化學結構,無需使用以光譜為主的GC分析資料庫。有關 APGC 的原理和技術資訊,請參閱以 APGC 創新技術分析聚合物特性的解決方案

測量樣品和空白樣品,用軟體提取樣品特有的熱分解組分(熱解產物),用分子相關離子的精確質量譜圖分析元素組成,最後通過碎片離子分配確定熱解產物的結構。元素組成和結構分析的範例如圖 A) 所示,熱解產物的聚合物結構分析結果顯示於圖 B)。

因此,軟電離法提供的數據能讓結構分析變得更簡單,甚至對於 GC/MS 分析而言也是如此。

4) 使用高性能熱分析儀分析材料物理特性

為了開發具備特別功能的材料(例如能在更嚴苛的條件下使用),必須更精確和準確地掌握材料物理特性。如前所述,測試材料的行為如何,與分子水平的原因有關。聚醯胺酸(一種工程塑料)具備高耐熱性和抗拉強度,因此常使用差示掃描量熱法 (DSC) 和動力學分析法 (DMA) 等熱分析技術進行評估。更精確和準確的熱分析需要最大化溫度控制和最小化漂移,以及可以處理更廣泛的不同形狀和類型之固體樣品的系統設計。

TA Instruments 的 DSC 系統不僅可以提供線性溫度測量,也可以在調節加熱速率後進行測量。在這個溫度調節式 DSC 系統中,總熱流可以分成對溫度增加率有反應的(可逆)分量和無反應的(不可逆)分量,通過分離可逆分量(例如熱容量和玻璃轉化)和不可逆分量(例如揮發、結晶和變性),可輕鬆暸解複雜的加熱事件。

圖. 使用溫度調節式 DSC 系統分析聚醯亞胺膜

材料是否隨溫度升高而變得有彈性或有黏性,會對材料的物理特性產生很大影響。DMA 可以測量材料在壓力環境條件下對溫度變化的黏彈行為反應。下圖顯示了兩個樣品(對照樣品和萃取樣品)的儲存模量和 tan δ 相對於溫度作圖的疊加圖。由於在測量溫度範圍內的 tan δ 值小於 1,因此彈性因子在兩個樣品中都占主導地位。然而,由於萃取樣品的起始溫度較低,因此推斷用 NMP 處理會使材料隨着起始溫度下降而更加黏稠。

圖. 使用 DMA 分析聚醯亞胺膜

採用化學測試方法以獲得分子層級資訊(例如前驅物分子量分佈、聚合物結構分析、材料表面變化),並採用物理測試方法以獲得材料對溫度和壓力環境條件的物理行為反應,可以更有效地改進功能性聚合物材料的開發。

1) 分子量分佈

ACQUITY APC 配合 BEH 技術

<ACQUITY APC 系統>

  • 高速且高解析度
  • 經最佳化設計,低分散
  • BEH 技術:用於分子篩層析的雜化顆粒管柱

2) 表面分析

<DESI – Q Tof>

  • 直接質譜法

    Synapt G2-Si 配合 DESI

  • 無須基質
  • 在大氣壓力下游離
  • 非破壞性分析

3) 聚合物結構分析

<熱解器-APGC-QTof>

  • 軟游離技術,碎片離子更少

    Xevo G2-XS Q-Tof 配合熱解器-APGC

  • 檢測分子相關離子
  • 高靈敏度和選擇性
  • 更容易分析元素組成和結構

4) 物理特性分析

<熱分析儀>

  • 溫度調節分析功能
  • DSC 2500           TGA 5500           RSA-G2

    最大化溫度控制和最小化偏移

  • 更廣泛的固體分析技術

DESI 和 APGC 是通用離子源的一部分,它們與 Synapt G2-Si 和 Xevo G2-XS QTof 等高解析度 MS 相容,可以在不排放真空的情況下進行替換。

化學與材料科學應用主頁
樣品DEMO需求
聯繫我們獲取更多資訊

資源

ACQUITY APC System

APGC

SYNAPT G2-Si HDMS

Xevo G2-XS QTof

Differential Scanning Calorimeters

Thermogravimetric Analyzers

RSA-G2 Solids Analyzer

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solution for Polyimide (PI) material characterization

To maintain profitability in the specialized materials market, its necessary to develop polymer materials with specialized functions and launch them promptly. For comprehending the performance as a functional polymer material, it is indispensable to analyze with complementary & diverse analytical techniques. Development and improvement of functional polymer materials can be advanced by considering the base polymer design, formulation, physical properties, etc. By employing a characterization approach of chemical testing to grasp aspects at the molecular level and physical testing to grasp the relationship with physical properties of the product itself, development of functional polymer materials can be efficiently improved.

Polyimide (PI) materials

Polyimide, an engineering plastic, is a polymer compound having feature such as high heat resistance, tensile strength, flexural modulus and electrical insulation, so there are products customized for various usage such as forming into a film, flexible OLED display material, flexible printed circuit and binder of Li-ion secondary battery. The general production method is to imidize polyamic acid of precursor by heat treatment. The precursor polyamic acid is soluble in organic solvents, but not the resulting polyimide, hence only technologies that can measure solid samples can be applied after imidization.

There are several techniques that can evaluate the material as exemplified here, such as molecular weight distribution of precursor with GPC(Gel Permeation Chromatography), surface and outer layer analysis of product with direct Mass Spectrometry, structural elucidation of base polymer by pyrolysis, physical property testing with DMA(Dynamic Mechanical Analysis) and DSC(Differential Scanning Calorimetry).

1) Molecular Weight Distribution with APC (Advanced Polymer Chromatography)

It is known that the difference of molecular weight and degree of irregularity (molecular weight distribution) greatly influence the fundamental properties of polymers, and furthermore the properties as materials. In case of polyimide, improvement and control of molecular weight distributions are evaluated by measuring the molecular weight distribution of precursor polyamic acid. The figure below shows the measurement results of polyamic acid with ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography (ACQUITY APC). For principle and technology of APC, please refer to ”Solution for polymer characterization with APC

Fig. Polyamic acid analysis with Advanced Polymer Chromatography (n=5)

For functional polymer materials, more precise and accurate measurement on molecular weight distribution can be achieved with the adoption of high-resolution size-based separation technology over conventional GPC technology. Moreover, since it is improved from the conventional GPC in terms of throughput and repeatability, it enables daily calibration and supports improvement of material quality by performing accurate evaluation more quickly.

2) Surface analysis with DESI-QTof (Desorption Electro Spray Ionization)

There are technologies for analyzing the material surface directly, such as AEX, XPS, Tof-SIMS and MALDI. However, depending on the type of information we want to obtain, such as elemental information of surface, molecular structure information, concentration and distribution on surface, depth direction information, there are restrictions on the technologies that can be used. DESI is a mass spectrometric imaging technique that extracts, desorbs and ionizes components on material surface by spraying a charged fine droplet of solvent, and introduces the generated ions to high resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS). By leveraging DESI imaging with the following features, it is possible to visualize distribution of polymer additives on surface, comparison of degradation of surface component, adhesion of contaminant, measurement of cleaning effect, chemical change of the surface of material.

A comparison of control sample and sample treated by ultrasonication in NMP is shown in the fig. below. By extracting specific molecular weight with differences in intensity between samples from full scan data, it is possible to visually grasp the differences in abundance and distribution of components on surface. A) is the full spectrum imaging, B) is the result of 10 consecutive measurements on the same spot.

Fig. Polyimide film analysis with DESI-QTof MS

3) Structural elucidation of base polymer with Pyrolyzer-APGC-QTof (Atmospheric Pressure Gas Chromatography)

Structural elucidation and characterization of polymers is the corner stone of the development of new polymer materials with higher performance and new functionality. Pyrolysis-Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry(Py-GC/MS) is one the widely used techniques for structural analysis of polymers. The pyrolysis components of polymers are introduced into capillary column, separated, ionized and detected with MS. Although data acquired on Py-GC/MS is used for elucidating element and composition, the Electron Ionization(EI), which is the conventional ionization for GC/MS, generates many fragmented ions rather than molecular related ions, which makes the structural elucidation extremely complicated.

To reduce the complexity of this structural elucidation process, adoption of Atmospheric Pressure Gas Chromatography (APGC) coupled with high resolution QTof mass spectrometry is more suitable to elucidate polymer structure. Because of soft ionization, less fragmentation is observed when compared with EI, and molecular related ion information can be obtained. As the system can intentionally generate fragment ions inside MS, accurate mass information for molecular related ions and fragment ions associated with precursor ions is obtained in one sample run. In addition, UNIFI software, which supports structural elucidation, makes it easy to estimate the elemental composition and chemical structure of key marker components without using a spectrum-based database for GC analysis. For the principle and technology of APGC, please refer to ”Solution for polymer characterization with novel technology of APGC

The sample and blank sample are measured, the thermal decomposition component (pyrolyzates) peculiar to the sample is extracted by software, and elemental composition is elucidated with accurate mass spectrum of molecular related ion, structure of pyrolyzates is elucidated with assignment of fragment ion. The example of elemental composition and structural elucidation is shown in fig. A), the elucidated polymer structure from the pyrolyzates is shown in fig. B).

Thus, structural elucidation becomes simpler and less complex by using data provided by soft ionization method even GC/MS analysis.

4) Physical properties with high performance Thermal analyzers

To advance the development of materials for specific functions, such as being used under more severe conditions, it is important to grasp the physical properties more precisely and accurately. The knowledge of how the material will behave through this testing can be correlated with why at the molecular level as described above. Polyimide, one of the engineering plastics, is a material that is often evaluated with thermal analysis techniques such as DSC (Differential Scanning Calorimetry) and DMA (Dynamic Mechanical Analysis) because of its high heat resistance and tensile strength. More precise and accurate thermal analysis requires maximizing temperature control and minimizing drift, as well as system design that can handle a wider range of solid samples with different shapes and types.

DSC system from TA instruments can provide not only linear temperature measurement, but also measurement with modulation of the heating rate. In this temperature-modulated DSC, as the total heat flow can be separated into a component that responds to the temperature increase rate (Reversing) and a component that does not respond (Non-reversing), complex heat events can be easily understood by separating Reversing components such as heat capacity and glass transition, and Non-reversing components such as volatilization, crystallization and denaturation.

Fig. Polyimide film analysis with Modulated DSC

Whether the material becomes elastic or viscous as the temperature rises provides a great influence on the physical properties of the material. With DMA measurement, it is possible to measure the viscoelastic behavior in response to temperature changes under stress conditions. The figure below shows the overlay of storage modulus and tan delta versus temperature for two samples (control and extracted sample). As the value of tan delta is less than 1 among the measurement temperature range, elastic factor is dominant in both samples. However, as onset temperature of extracted sample shows lower value, it is inferred that treatment with NMP makes materials more viscous with the onset temperature drop.

By adopting chemical testing method that can obtain information at molecular level such as MW distribution of precursor, structural elucidation of polymer, change of material surface and physical testing method that can obtain physical behavior of material against temperature and stress, development of functional polymer materials can be more efficiently improved.

1) Molecular weight distribution

ACQUITY APC with BEH technology

<ACQUITY APC system>

  • High speed and high resolution
  • Optimally designed low dispersion
  • BEH technology : Hybrid particle column for size exclusion

2) Surface analysis

<DESI – Q Tof>

  • Direct mass spectrometry
  • No matrix required

    SYNAPT G2-Si with DESI

  • Atmospheric pressure ionization
  • Non- destructive analysis

3) Structural elucidation of polymer

<Pyrolyzer-APGC-QTof>

  • Soft ionization with less fragmentation
  • Molecular related ion detection

    Xevo G2-XS Q-Tof with Pyrolyzer-APGC

  • High sensitivity & selectivity
  • Easier elucidation of elements and structure

4) Physical properties

<Thermal analyzers>

  • Modulated temperature profile function
  • Maximize temperature control and minimize drift
  • Wider range of solid analysis techniques

    DSC 2500            TGA 5500          RSA-G2

DESI and APGC are parts of Universal Ion Source, which are compatible with high resolution MS such as SYNAPT G2-Si and Xevo G2-XS Q-Tof, and can be changeable without venting vacuum.

Chemical Materials Home Page
Request for Sample Demo
Contact Us for More Information

Resources

ACQUITY APC System

APGC

SYNAPT G2-Si HDMS

Xevo G2-XS QTof

Differential Scanning Calorimeters

Thermogravimetric Analyzers

RSA-G2 Solids Analyzer

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System