化學與材料科學應用主頁

OLED 材料雜質剖析與品管解決方案

在化學業,原料、中間產物與成品的雜質分析與管理是產品特性控管中相當重要的一環,具體而言,倘若出現微量雜質(例如有機分子),可能會大幅影響產品的特性、安全性與效能。能鑑定不明雜質的分析技術對工業化學製程多有助益,例如能夠提高產量、減少瑕疵品,以及提升安全性。因此,若所採用的分析技術能夠可靠地分離、偵測及定量主化學成分及潛在低豐度雜質,而且能發揮良好的再現性,就能提高產品開發速度並改善品管效能。

製程雜質分析

生產化學製品期間,可能會出現各式各樣的雜質(包括有機和無機的化學成分),每一批的雜質成分不盡相同。因此,通常會採用能測量每批產品主成分純度及雜質允許濃度的產品分析測試方法。液相層析 (LC) 和質譜分析 (MS) 是兩種合適的分析測試技術,許多產業的製程經常會運用這兩項技術偵測及定量有機雜質。能夠使用 LC 和 MS 分析的有機雜質成分包括:

  • 投入原料及中間產物中的雜質
  • 反應過程和製程中的副產品、分解產物
  • 殘留單體
  • 上一批製程的殘留物質
  • 外來污染

OLED 材料雜質剖析

OLED 等高效能設備要在市場上功成名就,基本上取決於 OLED 產品各組件所用材料的品質優劣。例如,材料中若含有機化學雜質,即使濃度極低,仍有可能導致產品降解並且縮短設備的使用壽命。此外,原料、合成、純化方法及批次皆具有變異性,每項材料中所含的雜質類型就有可能因此不同,因此,在廣闊的化學領域中,必須採用能夠偵測並鑑定不明有機雜質且靈敏度高的分析技術。

分析 OLED 材料時,運用 HPLC 結合 UV 偵測器及質譜儀偵測有機雜質化學成分的做法相當普遍,這是為了進行品管。這些雜質的濃度通常較低,因此,開發方法時請務必謹記以下實驗相關事宜。

-擷取模式:

偵測不明雜質時,必須使用全離子掃描資料擷取模式(亦即須涵蓋廣泛的質量範圍或波長),不能只監測特定波長或 m/z。同時,由於可能出現不明化學成分,因此,若能提供鑑定化學成分的方法,對質譜儀的擷取模式也有益。這種方法,一方面能透過高解析度質譜分析提供元素組成,一方面又能運用資料庫輔助鑑定化學化合物。

-靈敏度:

嘗試鑑定濃度(相對於材料)達 0.01% 的雜質時,若材料溶於濃度是 100 ppm (0.01%) 的溶劑中,雜質濃度就是 10 ppb。鑑定不明雜質時,必須設定靈敏度夠高的偵測極限,才能在全離子掃描模式下偵測及鑑定濃度範圍介於數十 ppb 的波峰。

-資料處理:

雜質剖析具有搜尋性質,因此,解決方案若能自大量全離子掃描資料中萃取雜質峰,並能提供有助於進行結構解析研究的元素組成,就能進一步輔助有效率的工作流程。

市售 OLED 材料 (E709) 雜質剖析範例

資料擷取

測量與相對於主成分的微量雜質時,主成分的量若是過多,可能會干擾分離雜質的成效。若使用低分散 UPLC 系統及 UPLC 管柱,就有可能分離傳統低解析度 HPLC 系統無法分離的雜質。

以下是使用 UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si 分析的三種樣品溶液。SYNAPY G2-Si Q Tof 系統含行進波離子遷移 (Traveling Wave ion mobility, TWIM) 分離功能及雙碰撞區。為要進行 MS/MS 而在 MSE 模式下操作 SYNAPT,而 MS/MS 擷取模式則在低能量掃描(用於偵測前驅物離子)與高能量掃描(用於產生產物離子)之間交替切換 – 所有步驟皆在單次分析中完成。

  1. 溶劑空白:樣品溶液的對照參考。
  2. 低濃度樣品:計算雜質相對濃度時的參考。
  3. 高濃度樣品:用於鑑定雜質並計算濃度(會將飽和的主成分轉為廢料)

由於是以能夠提供前驅物及碎體離子譜圖的 MSE 模式擷取資料集,因此與主成分相關的資訊就能夠提供線索,有助於發現與鑑定雜質。

自總離子層析圖萃取雜質峰

使用 UNIFI 軟體處理資料集。以下列舉幾種萃取雜質峰的方法。UNIFI 軟體能運用這些方法萃取雜質峰,也能使用元素組成執行資料庫搜尋,再運用碎體比對產生結構解析。

  1. 萃取和主成分有相同的碎體/中性脫失的波峰。由於是在 MSE 模式下進行實驗,因此能透過一次分析收集到所有前驅物及產物離子碎體。之後,資訊內容啟用 UNIFI 軟體功能,使其搜尋與主成分有相同碎體/中性脫失的雜質峰。下圖說明與主成分有相同碎體的雜質。
  2. 二元對照對照樣品與另一個樣品的總離子層析圖時,通常難以萃取只屬於其中任何一個樣品的峰。此時,其中一張層析圖與第二張層析圖之間的對照圖(稱為「二元對照組」),通常能夠強調只出現在其中一個樣品而未出現在第二個樣品中的波峰。為說明這個原則,下圖示範利用樣品與溶劑空白對照在樣品中偵測到的特有波峰。
  3. 依合成途徑搜尋
    若已根據既有資料得知(或可推薦)合成途徑,UNIFI 就能自動尋找主成分結構的轉化,從而搜尋相關雜質。

化學式與結構解析

高解析度質譜分析確定元素組成的方式,是運用以精確質量為準的計算方式以及同位素分佈。之後可以運用衍生出來的元素組成執行資料庫搜尋(包括線上資料庫及自行開發的資料庫)。萃取出來的雜質峰也有一致的前驅物離子和碎體離子資訊,因此可以利用碎體離子譜圖所產生的碎體比對,與根據化學及化學結構知識計算所得的碎體進行對照,從而提升結構解析的可信度。UNIFI 軟體會依序處理。

雜質的豐度

偵測到數種雜質並進行了結構解析(下方有幾個範例)。雜質的最低濃度是 0.005% (Imp05),最高濃度則是 0.127% (Imp06)。

在研究和開發階段發現雜質並提出鑑定結果後,即可將運用光電二極體陣列 (PDA) 或四極桿 MS 所做的重點研究應用於製程結束後的品管監控與例行定量分析。

透過偵測並鑑定像這樣的不明雜質,就能更清楚地管理製程及產品品質,也能為自開發到生產的每一個階段創造最大的利潤。

OLED 雜質剖析系統解決方案建議

UPLC PDA 偵測器和 SYNAPT G2-Si

<ACQUITY UPLC/PDA>

– 物理及化學方面均有優勢的 UPLC 管柱,能增加層析圖的選擇性

– 超高速、超高解析度的方法開發,能有效分離雜質。

– 光電二極體陣列偵測器,能透過波峰純度測試進行準確度相當高的剖析

<SYNAPT G2-Si>

– 準確的質量穩定性

– 雙碰撞區,即使是剛性成分,也能發揮提供碎體離子的效益

– 與 DESI、APGC、ASAP 等通用離子源相容

– 運用離子遷移分離技術,能發揮分離同分異構物與淨化譜圖的效率

– TAP 碎斷(MS/MS/MS。比對碎體)

<UNIFI 軟體>

– 一致的前驅物與碎體離子譜圖

- 元素組成、資料搜尋與碎體離子比對,連貫流暢的解析工作流程

– 自動挑選和主成分有相同碎體或中性脫失的波峰

– 根據預測反應及轉化自動萃取波峰。

品管流程雜質定量系統解決方案建議

Alliance HPLC / ACQUITY Arc UHPLC PDA ACQUITY QDa

<Alliance HPLC / ACQUITY Arc UHPLC /PDA>

– 轉換至 HPLC / UHPLC 的完美方法,能夠產生如同運用 UPLC 得到的層析圖

– 連續混合四種溶劑

– 光電二極體陣列偵測器,能透過波峰純度測試進行準確度相當高的剖析

<ACQUITY QDa 偵測器>

– 簡單易用的單段四極桿偵測器,能使用刺激性強的有機溶劑

– 質譜偵測技術,能運用與光學偵測器一樣的操作方式得到質量資訊。

– 直覺式操作

<Empower 3 軟體>

– 內建雜質測試功能,以及運用 PDA 譜圖進行的譜圖比對功能

– 自訂計算與報告功能

– 從擷取、處理到報告,對任何一位操作員而言都是能夠發揮效益的工作流程。

– 符合法令規定

化學與材料科學應用主頁
樣品DEMO需求
聯絡我們了解更多

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

Chemical Materials Home Page

Solutions for impurity profiling and quality control of OLED materials

Analysis and management of impurities in raw materials, intermediates and final products are an important aspect in managing the characteristics of products, in the chemical industry, specifically the presence of trace amounts of impurities, e.g., organic molecules, can greatly affect product properties, safety and performance. Analytical technologies that can identify unknown impurities can provide a lot of benefits to industrial chemical processes such as improved yields, the reduction of defective products, and improved safety. Hence, rapid product development and quality control can be improved by adopting analytical technology that can reliably isolate, detect and quantify the main chemical components and potential low abundance impurities with good reproducibility.

Impurities analysis in manufacturing process

Various impurities (both organic and inorganic chemical components) may be introduced during the production of chemical products, and these impurity components may differ depending on the lot. For this reason, a method of product analytical testing that measures the purity of the main component and permissible concentration of impurities in each lot is widely used. Two suitable analytical testing techniques, liquid chromatography (LC) and mass spectrometry (MS), are routinely used for detecting and quantifying organic impurities during manufacturing in many industries. Organic impurity components that may be analyzed with LC and MS include :

  • Impurities in input raw materials and intermediates
  • By-products, decomposition products in reaction and manufacturing processes
  • Residual monomers
  • Residual substances from the previous process batch
  • Contamination from outside

Impurity profiling of OLED materials

Success in the market of high performance devices such as OLEDs can fundamentally depend on the quality of the materials that make up the individual components of OLED products. For example, organic chemical impurities contained in the material may lead to product degradation and shorten the lifetime of the device even when found at extremely low concentrations. In addition, since each material may differ in the type of impurity as a result of variability in the raw materials, synthesis, purification routes, and batch lots, it is necessary to utilize analytical technology that can detect and identify unknown organic impurities with high sensitivity over a broad chemical space.

In the analysis of OLED materials, HPLC combined with UV detector and a mass spectrometer is widely used for detecting organic impurity chemical components, in order to perform quality control.  Because these impurities are often found at low concentrations, it is important to keep in mind the following experimental aspects as methods are developed.

-Acquisition mode :

In order to detect unknown impurities, it is necessary to use a full scan data acquisition mode (i.e., covering a broad mass range or wavelength) rather than monitoring only at a specific wavelength or m/z. And, since the chemical components are likely unknowns, the acquisition mode of mass spectrometer will benefit from providing a means of identifying chemical components. One such methodology that high resolution mass spectrometry can provide elemental compositions that can in turn facilitate identification of chemical compounds by use of a database.

-Sensitivity :

In the case of trying to identify 0.01% concentration of impurities relative to the material, if the material is dissolved in a solvent at a concentration of 100 ppm(0.01%), the impurity concentration will be 10 ppb. For identifying unknown impurities, it is necessary to have a sufficiently sensitive detection limit that enables detecting and identifying peaks with concentrations in the range of several tens ppb in full scan mode.

-Data Processing :

Due to the searching nature of impurity profiling, it will also mean that an efficient workflows will be facilitated by a solution that can extract impurity peaks from enormous amounts of full scan data, provide elemental compositions for assisting with structural elucidation studies.

An example of impurity profiling of commercialized OLED material, E709

– Data acquisition

When measuring a trace amount of impurities relative to the main component, a large excess of the main component may interfere with impurity separation. By using the low dispersion UPLC system and UPLC column, it is possible to separate impurities that can-not be achieved with traditional lower resolution HPLC systems.

Three kinds of sample solutions below have been analyzed with UPLC/SYNAPT G2-Si. The SYNAPY G2-Si Q Tof system includes a Traveling Wave ion mobility (TWIM) separation functionality and dual collision cell. In order to conduct MS/MS, the SYNAPT was operated in MSE mode whereby the MS/MS acquisition mode alternates between a low energy scan to detect the precursor ions and then switches to a high energy scan to produce the product ions – all accomplished within a single analysis.

  1. Solvent Blank that is used as reference for comparing with sample solution.
  2. Low concentration sample that is used as reference for calculating relative concentration of impurity.
  3. High concentration sample that is used for identification of impurity and calculating its concentration (saturated main component is diverted to the waste)

As the data set was acquired with MSE mode which can provide precursor and fragment ion spectrum, information regarding the main component can provide clues to aid in the discovery and identification of impurities.

– Extraction of impurity peaks from total ion chromatogram

UNIFI software was used to process the data set. There are several approaches below to extract impurity peaks. UNIFI software can not only extract impurity peaks by these approaches, but also perform a database search using the elemental composition and generate structural elucidation using fragment match.

  1. Extract peaks with same fragment / neutral loss in common with the main component.
    Since the experiment was conducted in MSE mode, all precursor and product ion fragments were collected in one analysis. The information content then enabled the UNIFI software to search impurity peaks with fragment / neutral loss in common with the main component. The figure below shows the impurity with fragment in common with main component.
  2. Binary compare
    Often when comparing a total ion chromatogram of sample with another sample, it is difficult to extract peaks that are unique to only either one of samples. A graphic comparison of one chromatogram against a second called “binary comparer” can often highlight unique peaks in one sample over a second. To illustrate the principle, the figure below shows unique peaks detected from the sample by comparing sample and solvent blank.
  3. Search by synthetic pathwayIf the synthetic pathway is known (or can be proposed) based on prior knowledge, UNIFI can automatically search the related impurities by looking for transformations of main component structure.

– Elucidation of formula and structure

In high resolution mass spectrometry, elemental compositions are determined by a calculation based on the accurate mass and also incorporating the isotope pattern. The derived elemental composition can subsequently be used to perform a database search (both of online databases and locally developed databases). Since the extracted impurity peak also has appropriately aligned precursor ions and fragment ion information, fragment matches arising from fragment ion spectrum, can be compared with calculated fragments based on knowledge the chemistry and chemical structure in order to improve confidence of structural elucidation. These are sequentially processed in UNIFI software.

– Abundance of impurity

Several kinds of impurities were detected and structures elucidated (some examples are below). The lowest concentration of impurity was 0.005% (Imp05) and the highest of that was 0.127% (Imp06).

Once the impurities are found and identifies proposed in the research and development stage, a more focused study using either a photo diode array (PDA) and quadrupole MS can be applied to the QC monitoring and routine quantification analysis following manufacturing process.

By detecting and identifying unknown impurities like this, we are able to more clearly manage the manufacturing process and product quality and contribute to maximizing profit at each stage from development to production.

Proposal system solution for impurity profiling of OLED

UPLC with PDA detector and SYNAPT G2-Si

– UPLC column with high physical and chemical strength for expanding chromatographic selectivity

– Ultra high speed and resolution for method development and effective impurity separation.

– Photo Diode Array detector that realizes highly accurate profile by peak-purity test

– Accurate mass stability

– Dual collision cell that can effectively provide fragment ion from even rigid component

– Compatible with universal ion source, DESI, APGC, ASAP etc

– Ion Mobility Separation that is efficient for isomer separation and spectrum clean up

– TAP fragmentation (MS/MS/MS. Alignment between fragments)

– Appropriately aligned precursor and fragment ion spectrum

– Sequential elucidation workflow with Elemental composition, database search and fragment ion matching

– Automatically picking peaks with same fragment or neutral loss in common with main component

– Automatically extraction peaks based on predicted reaction and transformation.

Proposal system solution for quantification of impurity in QC

Alliance HPLC / ACQUITY Arc UHPLC with PDA and ACQUITY QDa

– Prefect method transfer to HPLC / UHLC that can produce same chromatographic picture as it obtained by UPLC

– Continuous blending of four solvents

– Photo Diode Array detector that realizes highly accurate profile by peak-purity test

– Easy-to-use Single Quadropole detector compatible with strong organic solvent

– Mass detection that can obtain mass information by same operation as optical detector.

– Intuitive operation

– Embedded functionality of purity test and spectrum match with PDA spectrum

– Customized calculation and reporting function

– Effective workflow from acquisition, processing to reporting for every operator.

– Regulatory compliance

Chemical Materials Home Page
REQUEST FOR SAMPLE DEMO
CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION

Advanced Polymer Chromatography System

The ACQUITY APC System: Optimized for Performance

Method Development on the ACQUITY APC System

Increasing the Speed, Resolution and Flexibility of Polymer Separations

ACQUITY Advanced Polymer Chromatography System